And around Lake Benmore... - Great Southern Highlands Circuit - CycleBlaze

April 11, 2017

And around Lake Benmore...

It's only a short day today into Omarama. The catch is, there is a big hill in the way. But with only a little over 20 kilometers to cover I packed up later than usual and had a leisurely breakfast at the local cafe. The hill starts immediately on leaving the town, and it's 6.5 kilometers to the top. But my legs finally feel like they are coming good. I crested the hill with only a few stops for oxygen, and was rewarded with a stunning view down the valley over Lake Aviemore. When I got my camera out a passing A2O cyclist kindly offered to take my photo. And of course Boofle had to get in it too.

After a screaming 50 kph descent I reach Sailors Cutting on the shore of Lake Benmore, and stopped to enjoy the scenery and eat the muffin I had hauled up the hill.

For the first time I rode the actual formed A2O track, and it was another stunning ride along the lake shore, which was fringed by trees developing their autumn colours. Just after midday I reached Omarama. I'm having a lay day here tomorrow to wash my clothes, do some bike maintenance and of course give my legs a rest. And it is timely as NZ is about to be swiped by another cyclone and rain is forecast.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0