12/31/23 unwell in Cd. Insurgentes - south - CycleBlaze

December 31, 2023

12/31/23 unwell in Cd. Insurgentes

Fortunate that it was mostly downhill today
Heart 0 Comment 0

I think the slimy coconut at the rest stop overlooking Isla Diamante was not a good choice yesterday. Things were feeling a bit “off” when I started out this morning and by the time I’d finished the should-have-been-easy climb up to the plateau it was clear I had stomach issues.  I decided to call it early in Cd. Insurgentes, thanked Kent for staying close during the ride and for carrying my bike and gear to my upstairs room and we said our goodbyes. He needed to get to Cd. Constitución before the stores closed to prep for his return to the dirt route tomorrow, and I needed to shower, vomit, and sleep. I hope he was as successful with his to-do list as I was with mine. 

I ventured out later for water, fruit and yogurt, and went back to my room, happy to be feeling better, but very tired. I’ll decide tomorrow if I’m ready to resume riding, my goal being an easy 20 miles to Cd. Constitución and another hotel. I’m still hoping to catch the ferry on the 4th, but only if it’s easy. 

Russians have a saying along the lines of “how you greet the New Year is how you’ll live it”. I’m OK with that, feeling safe, comfortable and content to be where I am. 

Saying goodbye to the doggies in the morning. Soon after this picture I was feeling poorly and not interested in photography anymore
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here’s one Kent took during one of the many times he waited for me to catch up. Even downhill it was a tiring day
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hotel Misiónes de BCS
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me: Hey, I know that school! Can I take your picture?Her: giggle
Heart 0 Comment 0
Goodbye 2023, it’s been a good year
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 820 miles (1,320 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0