12/26/23 Santa Rosalia - south - CycleBlaze

December 26, 2023

12/26/23 Santa Rosalia

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was a slog. The wind wasn’t much less than yesterday, so everything happened slowly and I got very tired.  However the temperature was nice and the sun not too strong, so despite the wind I quite enjoyed the ride and could not think of anything else I’d rather be doing. 

Horses casually strolling the plaza, all by themselves. I love Mexico
Heart 4 Comment 0
A final look at the lagoon
Heart 1 Comment 0
Volcán Tres Virgenes, my view for the day
Heart 2 Comment 0
Stopped in Alfredo V. Bonfile to dry my tent, which I’d packed up sopping wet from the morning dew. It looks calm in this picture, but in reality I was fussing around making sure nothing blew away
Heart 0 Comment 0
Getting closer
Heart 2 Comment 0
I came across this unhappy Christmas, front tire flat and rear tire shredded. I sat in its shade and ate all my oranges, wondering who the owner was and how long they drove on the rims. Only a quarter mile, it turns out
Heart 0 Comment 0
I finished my oranges and was about to leave a “thanks for the shade, hope it all worked out” note when the state police drove up. The pistol packing fellow on the left was the owner, and also evidently the boss as he was happy to chat while the others set about fixing things
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gettin past
Heart 2 Comment 0
Yes!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Back side
Heart 1 Comment 0
Adiós virgenes
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hello Gulf of California
Heart 1 Comment 0
There used to be a sign calling this Cuesta del Infierno (Hillside of Hell). The wind made the descent all wonky, I was riding the brakes a lot
Heart 1 Comment 0
About 10 miles from Santa Rosalia I saw someone walking with a suitcase on their head and took their picture, figuring here’s someone with a story
Heart 1 Comment 0
Gil, originally from Chihuahua, had decided he was done working at the mine and was on his way to Mexicali, unaware the next town was 30 miles away. I gave him the rest of my water and showed him where things were on the map
Heart 0 Comment 0
He said he was fine and requested a selfie
Heart 1 Comment 0
The mine Gil had had enough of
Heart 1 Comment 0
Santa Rosalia, a boom town since the mine reopened
Heart 1 Comment 0
Relic from the previous boom
Heart 0 Comment 0
The famous church
Heart 0 Comment 0
Eiffel’s church was exhibited in Paris, next to his new tower, and then taken apart and shipped here
Heart 1 Comment 0
Inside
Heart 0 Comment 0
Busy downtown Santa Rosalia. But only Planet Pizza was open
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The plaza must be pretty at night, though I won’t be here to see it. Too tired to be interested
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were more places open along the coast road out of town. I stopped here, concerned I might wake up hungry
Heart 0 Comment 0
Second supper
Heart 1 Comment 0
Next door to the taco shop, the foundation is getting eroded by angry seas
Heart 0 Comment 0
Full moon tonight
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 617 miles (993 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Raj HajelaNice seƱor!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago