12/15/23 Vicente Guerrero - south - CycleBlaze

December 15, 2023

12/15/23 Vicente Guerrero

Heart 1 Comment 0

I’d planned a 25 mile day to Punto Colonet, but the hotel I wanted to stay at on the south end of town was closed. Not finding the town interesting enough to backtrack to I rode another 25 miles to Vicente Guerrero and took the first hotel I came across, which turned out to be quite nice. Traffic picked up considerably after Punto Colonet, so I was glad to be off the road. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
All the towns have this look. Business lining the highway that runs through the middle, dirt roads elsewhere
Heart 1 Comment 0
My hotel
Heart 1 Comment 0
An oasis in the chaos
Heart 1 Comment 0
Vicente Guerrero
Heart 1 Comment 0
I can’t buy my usual snacks anymore, they all come with labels
Heart 1 Comment 1
Walked the main road looking for dinner
Heart 0 Comment 0
Keep finding tacos
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 223 miles (359 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Dino AngeliciWhat do you do to avoid Montezuma's Revenge, when eating in local establishments? Or, is that still a concern when in Mexico?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
David ChavezThere’s the occasional place with lots of flies and suspected hygiene, which I’ll avoid, but as a rule the street food places are merely simple, not dirty. I try to pick places with a crowd, never drink tap water, buy fruit you can peel. I need to eat more vegetables, and am getting tired of eggs
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Dino AngeliciThanks David. A fellow I worked with, many years ago, used to say he would order drinks, "sin hielo" (without ice). He said that sometimes, even the clean places made their ice from the tap water and that could get you sick. Enjoying following along with your trip. All the best.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago