12/16/24 Venustiano Carranza - south - CycleBlaze

December 16, 2023

12/16/24 Venustiano Carranza

Heart 1 Comment 0


An easy, essentially flat ride, I’d reached my destination before noon. I considered continuing the 34 miles to El Rosario planned for tomorrow, but after yesterday’s longer than expected ride I’m feeling my hip more than I’d like. It wasn’t difficult to decide to stay in the Hotel Santa Maria, on the beach. Hotel Santa Maria is the former Hotel Presidente chain with excellent accommodations in rural locations. Not cheap, but also not out of my reach.  Deciding to stay here was made even easier when I learned that Sunday features a breakfast buffet!

Tense traffic continued until past San Quintin. I remember this stretch from my first time so I was mentally ready but glad when it was finally over
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’ve been seeing lots of military traffic, more than I recall from before
Heart 1 Comment 0
Plenty of people selling corn
Heart 2 Comment 0
Oranges, too. I try to carry a few each day
Heart 2 Comment 0
Too early to stop and try to score a family discount
Heart 2 Comment 0
Stopped here for ceviche tostadas
Heart 4 Comment 0
Inside, the floor was all shells. The ceviche was the best I’ve ever had
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice beach
Heart 5 Comment 0
Empty beach
Heart 4 Comment 0
View from my room
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 249 miles (401 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0