12/13/23 Santo Tomás - south - CycleBlaze

December 13, 2023

12/13/23 Santo Tomás

Heart 0 Comment 0

I said my goodbyes in the morning and rode into town for ceviche and a SIM card. Instead I had a rear flat, probably from all the glass I was riding through.  I had converted my rear wheel to tubeless during my downtime in Albuquerque and found the repair to be Oh So Easy compared to wrangling the tire off and on.  The whole process took maybe 15 minutes. 

I took the coastal route through town
Heart 1 Comment 0
first flat with my new tubeless set up
Heart 0 Comment 0
Delighted to learn this really works
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was a noisy and hectic escape from the city
Heart 0 Comment 0
In spite of appearances it wasn’t too bad, drivers were considerate
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice to be back in the country
Heart 1 Comment 0
I plan to stop in all of these towns
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretHopefully your stop in San *Quintin will be brief…( thankfully, not San Quentin)..
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fruit break
Heart 2 Comment 2
Mike AylingWhat kind of gearing do you have on that bike?.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
David ChavezTo Mike AylingIt’s an 18 speed Pinion with a belt drive. I like it, but would probably do a traditional set up with a single in front and big cluster in the rear if doing it again. The Pinion is a black box that needs to go to Germany if it breaks, so I’m counting on it not to.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
The restaurant was closed but there were burritos to be had
Heart 0 Comment 0
Too much for one person, I did not get to taste the wine
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 148 miles (238 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0