12/12/23 Ensenada - south - CycleBlaze

December 12, 2023

12/12/23 Ensenada

It was an easy 30 mile day, not 45 as shown. The last 15 miles were exploring Ensenada in Javier’s car with my phone still tracking
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was able to reconnect and invite myself to stay with Javier, my friend and former colleague from my days working at CICESE, some forty plus years ago. We arranged to meet at the office for a tour, followed by another of Ensenada which was largely unrecognizable from when I lived here.  It was a short but very satisfying visit. 

Coffee and buns from Oxo for breakfast
Heart 0 Comment 0
The front of the house didn’t disappoint
Heart 2 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesIt's "El Castillo del Diablo" - easily found all over the internet. It was built about 8 years ago, valued at $3 million, by a clearly cuckoo American gothic art fan. He built it here because of lax regulations in Mexico, says his wife hates it and would burn it down, but wants to convert it to a museum.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David ChavezI’d visit it!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Leaving La Misión
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretMuch better art than that gothic fright…
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Stunning views today
Heart 3 Comment 0
Before I knew it I’d arrived in Ensenada
Heart 0 Comment 0
CICESE, where I worked from ‘79 to ‘82, fresh out of school
Heart 0 Comment 0
As a couple of 20-somethings Javier and I pitched the idea of the RESNOR seismic network to the Mexican government, got funded and began installing seismic stations across northern Baja
Heart 2 Comment 0
The network has grown considerably in the ensuing decades. The equipment we installed is now in their museum
Heart 1 Comment 0
My old office. I couldn’t look inside, it was locked with the current occupant working from home, as many do
Heart 0 Comment 0
We spent the day and evening filling in the past 45 years. I found it such a satisfying visit and our conversations left me with lots to reflect on
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 114 miles (183 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0