04/09/24 Izalco - south - CycleBlaze

April 9, 2024

04/09/24 Izalco

Short and sweet
Heart 0 Comment 0


Today I finally followed my own advice and left and stopped early.  I went less than 20 miles, and was fine with stopping at 11:30, my shirt already completely wet and sticking to my back. Tomorrow will not be so easy, but that’s tomorrow. 

I needed to decide if I wanted to follow the costal route or turn inland and gain some elevation and opted for the latter. The air by the coast is too thick and heavy and has a lot of steep up and down, resulting in a lot of climbing while staying at sea level.  Hotels look a lot more expensive there as well. I’m at barely 1,500 feet here in Izalco and while it’s still quite hot outside it isn’t exactly miserable, so I’m pleased with my decision. 

I tried to write a paragraph about how I feel less an outsider here than in Guatemala but it turns out that a lot of that has to do with genocidal practices in the past so I’ll shut up instead. 

Breakfast was $4.50, would have been $3.00 but I wanted fresh orange juice as well
Heart 1 Comment 0
No sign of the owner, but he must have been nearby. A different machate carrying technique from they guy at the bike shop yesterday
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mexican calabash, according to my app. The “cannonball” fruit needs to be broken open in order for the seeds to propagate, according to Wikipedia
Heart 1 Comment 0
$55K US for a new two bedroom home
Heart 0 Comment 0
This looks so much nicer in photos, probably because I’m lying in a hammock and not feeling the sweat run down my sides
Heart 1 Comment 0
These skinny cows were getting sprayed for files
Heart 1 Comment 0
A house I liked the look of
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m close to San Salvador but it doesn’t feel that way
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretInteresting that the sign on the back of the truck(?) mentions precaution, and keeping a safe distance, yet it appears the truck has run into the sign!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Tanker selfie
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretDon’t get close enough to explode from your own body heat, David! 😬
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
I got to Izalco before noon
Heart 1 Comment 0
These trucks work as busses. The shade is important
Heart 1 Comment 0
A second Izalco sign was just below the very appealing central plaza
Heart 1 Comment 0
In the shade, with a breeze, this was a very comfortable place
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretIt appears others agree with you!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
And a shaved ice made it even nicer
Heart 1 Comment 0
School was getting out, I had to wait behind a crowd of students before I got mine
Heart 0 Comment 2
Karen PoretWhat are the reliefs a symbol of at the top corners of the building ( and one over the open door)?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
David ChavezOver the door is a date (1879), the others are images of corn
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Pretty pharmacy next to the plaza
Heart 1 Comment 0
I found this hotel on Google
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was delightful inside
Heart 2 Comment 0
My $35 non-air conditioned room is behind those shurbs
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tránsito Vega built this house in the 1860’s and it has remained in the family since. A single mother, she created a small empire and left over 20 properties such as this to her heirs. A grandson lives in the adjacent property
Heart 3 Comment 1
Robert BryceCool looking radio
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
The courtyard is lined with antiques
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretAnd an old loyal Royal typewriter!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Including a casually placed 2,300 year old carved jaguar head. The Vegas family
Heart 0 Comment 0
I learned these things while having coffee in the courtyard with Romero. Our conversation was interrupted by this small avocado which fell from the tree onto the tin roof with a loud thunk. Romero gave it to me and I’ll have it for lunch day after tomorrow when it’s fully ripe. He claims they get twice this size
Heart 2 Comment 0
Only green mangoes in the tree today. We’re getting to the end of mango season
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ornamental banana
Heart 1 Comment 0
This bus has seats
Heart 1 Comment 0
Thomas buses instead of Blue Bird are the norm. No roof racks and less glitz. Same aggressive exhaust
Heart 0 Comment 0
Doggy in the window
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI remember that song! (my age may be showing)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rJo9yJxd5M
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bread for sale
Heart 0 Comment 0
Destroyed historic building which I have photographed but not investigated
Heart 2 Comment 0
I went back for a second shaved ice after my nap. This one is ice, salt, lime juice and tamarind syrup. I could eat them all day
Heart 1 Comment 0
Izalco volcano was behind the clouds much of today but put in a brief appearance in the late afternoon. It was in continuous from its birth in 1770 until 1958 and was known as the Lighthouse of the Pacific
Heart 2 Comment 0
Where today’s post was composed
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 3,343 miles (5,380 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Karen PoretToo bad the heat is such a factor in riding on your trip. I, personally would not have attempted this location because of this. Thank you for sharing your adventures!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago