04/08/24 Acajutla - south - CycleBlaze

April 1, 2024

04/08/24 Acajutla

Basically a flat ride
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was awake at 5 but lingered in bed until 6, partly because i wasn’t convinced the border was really open 24 hours like the lady at the hotel said, but mostly because it was really comfortable in my air conditioned cocoon. I got to the border at 6:30 and was stamped out of Guatemala, pedaled a little down the road and across the bridge, paid a $12 tourist fee and got stamped in with no questions and no inspection.   I had a few quetzals left over which I exchanged for dollars with some entrepreneurs hanging around the Guatemalan side. The US dollar is the official currency of El Salvador (together with bitcoin but nobody is using that). I thought I was going to be living like a king when I paid just $1.25 for a breakfast of gallo pinto (beans and rice, but better) fried bananas and good coffee. But what I’ve found is that while street food is cheap other stuff is not. Lodging is surprisingly expensive, at least in the beach town of Acajutla. The first place I looked at wanted $100 for one night. It was a decent spot, with a pool, but Acajutla is not a lush beach paradise. It’s a semi-squalid town with an industrial port. The security guard at the restaurant across the street saw me enter and leave and psst’ed me over to tell me to go knock on that door there and tell them the guard sent me and I’d like the price.  I ended up paying $30 for a clean, simple room with good air conditioning and in later walks around town I decided it really was the best deal in town. Down in the really nasty section I could get a room for $25 but without A/C. 

No hot water (nor at last night’s place either) but the cool water that comes is so refreshing it’s  not a problem. I cleaned up and went across the street for beer and shrimp tacos and ended up chatting for a while with Alan who had ridden in from San Salvador on his motorcycle.  Like me, Alan is retiree after a successful career in tech and is traveling south. Unlike me, he’s on a BMW, stays in the Hyatt  and is 36 years old. 

The bridge over the river into El Salvador
Heart 2 Comment 0
Big changes are afoot, a new four lane bridge is under construction
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cows and owner in the river, I know not why
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking back at the border after being processed across
Heart 1 Comment 0
A proper welcome just past town
Heart 1 Comment 0
I stopped in the town of Cara Sucia (Dirty Face) for a Salvadoran SIM card
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cara Sucia still has its Christmas tree up, a week after Easter
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kind of the look today
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not a common sight
Heart 2 Comment 0
Ben passed me soon after I crossed the border. I “know” him from the WhatsApp group we are both part of. He’s cycling from Alaska to Argentina
Heart 1 Comment 0
88 year old Juan sells these beans his friend grows
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m pretty sure this is a ceiba tree, also known as Mexican Cotton, for this reason
Heart 1 Comment 0
I passed several nurseries
Heart 0 Comment 0
Biology and Geology
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’ve seen a lot of roadside bike shops. I was invited to “sit a spell, get out of the heat” when I paused to observe. Note the bike rack, consisting of hooks suspended from the roof beam by inner tubes
Heart 2 Comment 0
Note also the machete carried in the frame. Everyone carries machetes in the countryside
Heart 1 Comment 0
Passed several rivers. These will get busy in a few weeks when the rainy season begins
Heart 0 Comment 0
Two retired guys traveling around on bikes
Heart 1 Comment 0
I went down to the beach to get my feet wet
Heart 1 Comment 0
I wouldn’t walk barefoot on this beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
A family of chickens
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bread salesman
Heart 2 Comment 0
He wasn’t as surly as the picture suggests. Each package of two sweet items was 25 cents. Or “un quarter” but pronounced in only a vaguely recognizable way
Heart 1 Comment 0
The cemetery looked crowded
Heart 0 Comment 0
Three guys smoking cigarettes and playing cards on a grave
Heart 1 Comment 0
More chickens
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not much to see at the “artesanal pier”
Heart 1 Comment 0
I see A Lot of this
Heart 1 Comment 0
Exclusively oil and gas tankers off shore, feeding hydrocarbons into the country
Heart 1 Comment 0
With a very tight focus, I can pretend this is a nice place
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 3,325 miles (5,351 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0