04/07/24 Ciudad Pedro de Alvarado - south - CycleBlaze

April 7, 2024

04/07/24 Ciudad Pedro de Alvarado

All those sharp bits were tiring in the heat
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woulda, coulda, shoulda left early seeing how I was awake at 5:30. But my room included a breakfast buffet at 7, and I wanted that. Bad idea. The buffet was still far from ready at 7 and there was a big crowd of guests restlessly in line, I could see it was going to get ugly. I distracted one of the attendants long enough to fill all my water bottles with ice water and left, grabbing breakfast down the road. 

When I was up in the highlands contemplating the weather down here I made the decision to get up early and stop someplace with air conditioning at noon and stay out of the sun. It’s a good policy but I can’t seem to follow it.  

Today was a slog. My legs felt tight, in spite of some good stretches I did in the pool last night, and my joints were all aching. Knees, hip and right wrist made themselves known. The wrist pain was particularly annoying, as it made shifting difficult. I decided I was  short of electrolytes from yesterday and used some tablets I bought waaaay back in Tepic. Maybe that helped, maybe not. When I got to the border town of Ciudad Pedro de Alvarado I was feeling less than fully sharp, and certainly not interested in riding for hours more. I found a hotel with air conditioner and took a room. I’ll deal with the border, money, cell phone and all the other stuff fresh in the morning. 

I had eggs and beans, washed down with really good coffee
Heart 3 Comment 0
That’s kind of exciting
Heart 3 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraCongrats on another frontier. Really look forward to reading your journal on a daily basis.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
You don’t see many of these signs
Heart 2 Comment 0
It was idyllic in places, but for the heat
Heart 1 Comment 0
Share the road
Heart 2 Comment 0
Baptism in the river
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lots of up and down today. Not really steep, but I’m a wimp in the heat
Heart 2 Comment 0
Soft spoken Elbe stopped me to talk. He was carrying a load of firewood he’d collected back to his house and wanted to ask me about my trip. I could barely hear him he spoke so quietly
Heart 2 Comment 0
I passed a couple of pretty lagoons
Heart 3 Comment 0
Loved the tree cover, wish it was continuous
Heart 2 Comment 0
I pedaled through some particularly bad sections of burning today, inhaled a lot of smoke
Heart 0 Comment 0
The cows on the arch. This is cattle country, there are rodeos here too, based on some signs I saw
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m ready to stop, please let there be an air conditioned hotel
Heart 2 Comment 0
This will do fine
Heart 0 Comment 0
Restaurant attached, I was able to get rid of all my quetzals. I hope I don’t need to produce any tomorrow
Heart 3 Comment 0
The border is just a few feet further down the road. I walked over to investigate, I think it’s open from 7 to noon in the morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 3,293 miles (5,300 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0