04/06/24 Guazacapán - south - CycleBlaze

April 6, 2024

04/06/24 Guazacapán

One look at that elevation profile and I knew I’d found my route
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up early without an alarm and was on the road by 6 am. Not that it meant I arrived early, I stopped for pictures and laziness enough that it was a long day. 

I ended up taking neither of the routes I was contemplating yesterday.  The Google default route out of Antigua was this gorgeous long and gentle descent that took you through the valley between Agua and Fuego/Acatenango. And there was visibility!  One small climb at the end, but nothing more than 5% grade what’s not to like?

It was as enjoyable as I hoped it would be. The heat got a bit much on the climb at the end, but I refreshed my way through it. Prior to that, it was all peaches and cream. I was enjoying the pleasant absence of feeling you get when a long time itch is gone completely. 

I got passed by a cyclist who sped by in a blur as I was leaving Antigua. And then through the magic of social media it turns out he was a friend of a friend and I got an Instagram message from him later.  He’s now in El Salvador, traveling at twice my speed. I also met a French couple traveling north from Panama, but we forgot to take pictures. They told me about the campground they stayed at last night but I found a place with air conditioning instead.  

Volcán de Agua finally put in an appearance just as I was leaving Antigua
Heart 1 Comment 0
And Fuego and Acatenango as well
Heart 1 Comment 0
I waited a few minutes to watch Fuego burp
Heart 2 Comment 0
That was fun, let’s do it again
Heart 1 Comment 0
I did a lot of this today
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sharing the road
Heart 2 Comment 0
That was a very big tree
Heart 1 Comment 0
Starting a 40 mile downhill ride
Heart 2 Comment 0
New scenery as I descended
Heart 0 Comment 0
I have forgotten their names, the sun fried those circuits
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I thought I was buying pineapple juice but it was this fermented thing. Pineapple kombucha, kind of
Heart 0 Comment 0
I told Jose I wasn’t a fan and he laughed and filled me up again
Heart 1 Comment 0
Escuintla was very much alive
Heart 0 Comment 0
Back in the day it had a hard, uninviting look. Now it has MacDonalds. I’m not sure what’s with the Israeli flag and star, but it’s not the first time. Just the first time on municipal property
Heart 1 Comment 1
Robert BryceWhen we visited we were told Guatemala had gotten a lot of help from Israel - especially designing and building water systems for irrigating crops in the area east of Guatemala City. Maybe they have invested in this area as well
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Some nice stretches were shaded tree tunnels
Heart 2 Comment 0
I found it very lush
Heart 3 Comment 0
Share the road
Heart 3 Comment 0
A truckload of pineapples
Heart 2 Comment 0
A truckload of bananas
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ripe mangoes dropping from the trees
Heart 0 Comment 0
Xavier waved me down to hand me a couple of
Heart 1 Comment 0
I remember eating these as a boy in Colombia. If you bite them when not fully ripe it would pucker you up in a cottony sort of way
Heart 0 Comment 1
George MercerA maranon.....I ate those in El Salvador....that's a cashew on the top. Awesome fruit
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
An unexpected treat. Pacaya on the right and Cerró Chino where my camera is on the left
Heart 1 Comment 0
This miscellany store is fronted by bars. It’s been the norm down here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There always seems to be a huge tree nearby when I take a break
Heart 1 Comment 0
I wonder how old they are
Heart 1 Comment 0
I enjoy them
Heart 2 Comment 0
A few nice estate like properties
Heart 1 Comment 0
This unattended shaved ice stand appeared just as my brain started to bounce
Heart 2 Comment 0
I hollered “helloooo” and Alexandra came and made me one that was so good I had a second. As we chatted and she learned about my background she stopped the conversation and said she wanted to know where the hell did all those boulders that cover her property come from, because some people say they are growing. I tried to explain they were from the volcanos up the road and actually were getting smaller, just slowly. I don’t think I convinced her
Heart 1 Comment 0
I got ambushed by this swimming pool a couple of miles from my intended destination
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wonderful air conditioning and a breakfast buffet included. That’s a dilemma because I’d planned to leave very early to give me maximum flexibility at the border
Heart 1 Comment 0
El Salvador tomorrow 🤞
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 3,263 miles (5,251 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0