03/28/24 Huehuetenango - south - CycleBlaze

March 28, 2024

03/28/24 Huehuetenango

All uphill, but still easier than yesterday
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was not looking forward to today, expecting a ride more difficult than yesterday. My routing app said I would encounter several miles of steep climbing above 10% grade and expected I’d be doing a lot of walking. So I was pleased to discover that RideWithGPS was wrong, and I never had anything over 8% and didn’t have to walk at all! I was better about drinking lots of water as well, so I ended the day physically much better than yesterday. I’m taking a day off tomorrow, to explore the town a bit and to plan the next leg. I was so intimidated by what I assumed today would be like that hadn’t done any thinking beyond Huehuetenango, so I now need to do some thinking.

I left early, no breakfast options yet open at 6:15, so I stopped for breakfast in La Democracia
Heart 2 Comment 0
An attempt to convey how steep everything is
Heart 3 Comment 0
I’m noticing more hotels than appear on Google
Heart 2 Comment 0
Gaudy
Heart 1 Comment 2
Judy GaukelOld stair railings?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
David ChavezNew. It’s in front of a place that makes them, I presume these are the choices. They are used in many of the newly built houses
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Personal silos for sale
Heart 1 Comment 0
There’s a village perched on that hill
Heart 3 Comment 0
I wish it was mist that is causing the low visibility, but it’s all smoke
Heart 1 Comment 0
A family of chickens
Heart 3 Comment 0
This poor guy is living a hard life
Heart 2 Comment 0
The litter problem is astonishing
Heart 1 Comment 5
Bill ShaneyfeltSad to see this in all undeveloped nations. It was bad in Guate. in 2010 when I was on a high school missions trip to Lago Atitlan area, but this is far worse!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Karen PoretTo Bill ShaneyfeltWHY??
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Karen PoretNot sure. I suspect culture... Never learned to dispose. It happens here too. I pick up and bag trash at local parks, and the park system has an organized volunteer system. It is better now than 15 years ago before they started the volunteer trash pick up. I noticed decades ago hiking the Appalachian Trail that there was lots of trash near trailheads and it slowly dissipated farther away for about half a mile. "There, the rule is carry in, carry out." I carry a whisk broom on my bike to sweep glass from the bike paths. Still, I get an occasional flat.

"People are such pigs!" Origin unknown.

Yup, Why? Don't people realize it is like crapping in your own bed?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Karen PoretTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks for the thread, Bill!
Fortunately we don’t have it “ this bad” in the 🇺🇸, but with the homeless people we are getting closer :(
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Judy GaukelI remember asking where to dispose trash we were carrying backpacking in Bolivia and people laughed at us and pointed to the ground...
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
I swung by to get water and ask about the name
Heart 2 Comment 0
William built his nest egg supervising undocumented workers for 20 years in Memphis, came back and built his house and store
Heart 2 Comment 0
His 12 year old daughter listened to our conversation but was too shy to talk
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another terrorist who refused to bare his teeth for the camera
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tossing trash off the bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Drying coffee. There are many small farmers growing coffee for sale
Heart 4 Comment 0
Women weaving was a common sight
Heart 4 Comment 2
Judy GaukelThat is awesome!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Robert BryceI was worried that weaving had died out. I love the fabric!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
The mom unrolled her project to show me what she was making
Heart 3 Comment 0
They have a kitten
Heart 1 Comment 0
More weavers
Heart 2 Comment 0
Coffee seedlings (I presume) in the shade
Heart 2 Comment 0
I got a friendly honk and a wave from In God We Trust guy
Heart 1 Comment 0
Church on hill
Heart 3 Comment 0
These kids hid and giggled but wouldn’t talk
Heart 1 Comment 0
Women carrying firewood on their backs, hanging from their foreheads
Heart 2 Comment 0
Coffee seedings
Heart 3 Comment 0
These Blue Bird buses are the main intercity public transportation. They are called chicken buses because they can carry everything, including chickens. Locals call them “camionetas”, i.e. buses. I may ride one at some point
Heart 4 Comment 2
Judy GaukelWe rode them at some point, and I was surprised that they had little stools too create a middle seat in the aisles..
And indeed, everything goes on top or in those buses!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Robert BryceI love that you are in the land of the chicken busses. They are so cool and go everywhere
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Chicken buses began life carrying American schoolchildren
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretThis school bus is from Exeter, CA, near Visalia and Tulare ( Fresno County) in the Central Valley.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Old buses never die
Heart 1 Comment 0
They go to Guatemala and eventually get new paint. Note the padlock on the gas cap
Heart 3 Comment 0
Spring owned by the local communities. The sign says take what you need and don’t dump your trash in our water supply
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tree hugging the rocks
Heart 3 Comment 0
First Guatemalan flag I’ve seen
Heart 2 Comment 0
This guy was building a shelf and selling tables, $10 each
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another flag house, properly oriented this time
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltStill short on stars and stripes, but better!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
The colors!
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltWhat's on sale?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Marco was drying coffee chatted with me about that and other things while his daughters hovered. When I asked for a picture he said yes and they scurried
Heart 2 Comment 0
Migrant aid office
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pan American highway needs work
Heart 2 Comment 1
Judy GaukelCan you imagine Fangio racing on it?!!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
A major firewood operation. It appears that cooking with wood is the norm
Heart 1 Comment 0
Today was the first day I’ve passed enough flowing water that the filter I’ve been carrying could be useful. Stores with cold water every few miles means I never considered it
Heart 3 Comment 0
“The poor are who suffer because of corruption. Don’t sell our dignity!”
Heart 4 Comment 0
Pickup trucks carry people between the local communities. Minivans also, but on this stretch it was mostly the trucks. William said there would be more chicken buses but this is Easter week and a lot of services have been reduced
Heart 1 Comment 0
And another one
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltYay! almost got it right
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Come to Huehuetenango and attend Cambridge
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretAnd solve the Rubik’s cube, too ….
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
I picked what looked like a nice place on Google
Heart 2 Comment 0
Where I did this update
Heart 3 Comment 0
No single rooms available, I got this for $22.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Judy GaukelPretty swanky!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 3,059 miles (4,923 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0