03/27/24 El Zapote - south - CycleBlaze

March 27, 2024

03/27/24 El Zapote

The trend may be downhill but the devil is in the details
Heart 0 Comment 0

In spite of being wakened at 5 by the roosters, dogs and trucks I didn’t manage to leave until shortly before 7. I had two possible destinations today, the town about 25 miles away that I’d originally planned to stay last night, and another town about 20 miles further on. It was still early and the town unappealing when I got to Nentón so I continued on.  What had started as a pleasant ride eventually became work. It was hot today, so hot that all the locals were commenting on it, and the route difficult. Even though it was generally downhill there were lots of intermittent climbs, several with grades above 11%, so I did a lot of walking. I can’t say I enjoyed it. I had a bit of a scare when all (both) hotels in La Zapote were reporting full, this being Easter week but the clerk at the resort typed some more and said I could have a bungalow for 250 quetzals. I took it because I was ready to be done, damn the cost. When I did the math I’d found I’d only spent $30, so that was nice, although working air conditioner would be nicer. 

Leaving La Trinidad in the morning
Heart 2 Comment 0
The road isn’t bad, but neither is it good. I would not want to ride this at night
Heart 0 Comment 0
I hate it when they do this
Heart 0 Comment 1
Pretty view?
Heart 1 Comment 0
It’s all in the framing. This was a an especially bad spot but litter is everywhere. Worse than Mexico
Heart 0 Comment 0
Smokey morning. I can’t recall when it wasn’t smokey
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretSmokEy is the bear..Smoky is the sky ;)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Cemetery
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cows
Heart 1 Comment 0
Curious cat at my coffee break
Heart 1 Comment 0
The restaurant where I had my coffee has a picture of the Kissing Alley in Guanajuato
Heart 0 Comment 0
Auto hotels are generally places that rent rooms by the hour, for couples in need of privacy. I took this picture because it advertises (or is called?) Stone Bed
Heart 1 Comment 0
Squeezing sugar cane. I bought a cup
Heart 1 Comment 0
Unfiltered, tastes very sweet. I won’t be drinking it straight again
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’d like to know the story, I’m guessing the house was built with money earned in the US. It bugs me that the flags are backwards
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltAnd too few stars and not enough stripes...
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Karen PoretMaybe not “trumpers”..
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Entering Nentón
Heart 2 Comment 1
Robert BryceA chicken bus!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Downtown Nentón, nothing to keep me here
Heart 1 Comment 0
I got myself a Guatemalan SIM. The attendant asked for my passport to register the SIM, was unable to do so with my passport number and registered it referring to someone else’s identification
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looks like an elephant, thanks to someone adding a trunk and tusk
Heart 0 Comment 0
and it’s for sale
Heart 0 Comment 0
The general look of today. Add heat
Heart 0 Comment 0
9 year old Israel sold me some peanuts at the stand he works at with his mom, and then rode with me to the edge of town peppering me with questions about my trip. It was fun
Heart 2 Comment 0
I saw tents and river, went down to look
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rio Azul is a community “turicentro”. I thought I might quit early and camp here
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was full of people enjoying the river
Heart 1 Comment 0
Plenty of street food options
Heart 0 Comment 0
And stores. But no place to camp and a 6 pm closing time
Heart 0 Comment 0
A tree slowly getting turned to lumber on site
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nearly stacked firewood. I passed neater stacks but was done photographing by then
Heart 1 Comment 0
Start of another steep downhill
Heart 0 Comment 0
And yet another climb
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from my bungalow
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 3,011 miles (4,846 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0