03/24/24 La Trinitaria, unexpectedly - south - CycleBlaze

March 24, 2024

03/24/24 La Trinitaria, unexpectedly

Out and back again
Heart 0 Comment 0

Not the day I expected to have. 

I was about 24 miles into my ride, having just finished a delightful long descent when I got to the town of La Campana. Lining the road into town was a group of about two dozen men and women (mostly men). They said that further ahead was another blockade, beyond which “things are ugly” and that I was certain to be stopped. I wasn’t being prevented from continuing on, but I was repeatedly and seriously told that “it would be better” if I left. So I did. 

I used the 5 hours it took to climb back up that monster of a hill to reflect on what happened. I know other cyclists who have passed this way only days ago, so I kept second guessing my decision to turn back. What made it confusing was that there was still traffic on the road, including the little buses that go between Comitán and the border. But, what was not ambiguous was the fact that a group of adults took it upon themselves to tell me to leave. That has a definite “you’re not welcome” vibe, regardless of how safe it really may or may not be.  I need to think about my plan B, but I’m not going to attempt today’s route again. I’m not interested in the anxiety I’d feel if I was allowed to pass and even less in climbing that heartbreak of a hill yet again if I wasn’t. 

Overflow crowd at mass this morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
That’s when I realized it’s Palm Sunday, explains the assembly lines
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hilly streets in the way out of Comitán
Heart 0 Comment 0
“Don’t forget to be happy”
Heart 2 Comment 0
Starting the long descent
Heart 2 Comment 0
A memorial
Heart 0 Comment 0
Admiring the view, blissfully oblivious to the fact that I was soon going to have to climb back
Heart 2 Comment 0
The civilian blockade at La Campana
Heart 1 Comment 2
Karen PoretGood riddance to them..
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
David ChavezActually they were stopping me for my benefit. They’re the “good guys”
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Puffing my way back up. Guatemala is somewhere in the haze
Heart 1 Comment 0
A pretty house in La Trinitaria
Heart 2 Comment 0
I had enough daylight to get all the way back to Comitán, but I didn’t want to go too far until I’d had a new plan. There are 3 hotels in La Trinitaria, one is closed, one is terrifying and this one is unattended
Heart 1 Comment 0
There’s one guest who insists someone will be coming soon. It’s been hours, I’ve decided I’m going to camp on this patio if nobody shows up
Heart 1 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraGood choice! Passing on the 'terrifying hotel' was a good idea!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 2,912 miles (4,686 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0