03/23/24 Comitán - south - CycleBlaze

March 23, 2024

03/23/24 Comitán

Heart 0 Comment 0

I’d had my fill of San Cristobal by yesterday afternoon. It’s a nice enough town, but so very much oriented towards the affluent. I decided I was enjoying it because it is so first world that it has a “feels like home” vibe, which was a nice break.  But I was ready to move on this morning.   I’m generally heading downhill but two long enough climbs in the middle meant I had to pedal enough, although in very agreeable conditions. 

I’ve done essentially no research on what awaits in Guatemala but assume that it will take some adjustment. I have certainly gotten comfortable with the cycling lifestyle I’ve adopted in Mexico. I’m not sure it will be this easy to maintain my current comfort level moving forward, but that should all reveal itself soon. 

It felt really good to be riding again. Temperatures in the 70’s and clouds made the day very pleasant
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Laundry day
Heart 3 Comment 0
Mamay. I’ve been eating mamay ice cream for a while, first time I’ve seen it for sale
Heart 1 Comment 2
Judy GaukelThat looks amazing! What does it taste like? Big seed in the middle?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
David ChavezIt tastes like my childhood. I couldn’t come up with a description so I asked ChatGPT:

“Mamey has a unique flavor that's often described as a combination of sweet potato, pumpkin, and almond, with hints of caramel and tropical fruitiness”

I’d say that was accurate
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
There’s a cave just at the end of the road, but I didn’t have the interest. There are lots of interesting things like this, including many waterfalls, which I’ve been skipping because of the effort involved in enjoying them
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m not sure if it’s for sale or personal supply, but one town had an impressive amount of firewood on display
Heart 1 Comment 0
Preserved fruits and vegetables
Heart 2 Comment 0
No idea
Heart 1 Comment 1
Judy GaukelDog houses?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
The carnitas place sells gasoline now. There was a long section with no gas stations but lots of gas in a can shops
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is how it’s done. I read something about local resistance to businesses in the small towns.
Heart 1 Comment 0
More firewood
Heart 0 Comment 0
More preserves
Heart 2 Comment 0
One town sold stuff like this, almost exclusively
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another sold carts and wooden toys
Heart 1 Comment 0
and dog houses
Heart 1 Comment 0
The road I’m about to switchback down to
Heart 1 Comment 0
Fancy house on the way down
Heart 1 Comment 0
The back of the house. I would have put huge windows and deck for the view
Heart 1 Comment 0
Entering Teopisca
Heart 1 Comment 0
Enjoying the jacarandas in bloom
Heart 3 Comment 0
Teopisca’s sign is made from onyx
Heart 3 Comment 0
I looks like there are lights inside. Must look good at night
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tiny taxis
Heart 1 Comment 0
Teopisca park benches sport different landscapes
Heart 3 Comment 0
A string of shops sold merengues on the way out of town and I went overboard
Heart 1 Comment 0
Amentango del Valle, next to Teopisca
Heart 1 Comment 0
where I met Nick from California, riding north from Guatemala to Oaxaca. First cyclist I’ve encountered since Puebla
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretWhere in CA, I wonder?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
“You are in Zapatista territory, where the people rule and the government obeys”
Heart 1 Comment 0
“ Bad governments and the capitalist system are useless for life and mother earth”
Heart 1 Comment 0
“We demand Russia end the war. We want life for the people of Ukraine and Russia”
Heart 1 Comment 0
A twisted wood place
Heart 1 Comment 0
I found it interesting
Heart 2 Comment 0
First mention of Guatemala!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I got to Comitán shortly before sundown
Heart 2 Comment 0
I found it colorful
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The plaza was decked out in fake flowers to welcome the arrival of spring
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Dozens of people making crosses and other items from palm leaves. Nobody buying any
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretIt’s already Palm Sunday now…
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Several interesting sculptures around the plaza
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Busy streets
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 2,872 miles (4,622 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0