03/21/24 lazy day - south - CycleBlaze

March 21, 2024

03/21/24 lazy day

Today I moved to a nice $20 hotel and studied routes, while drinking lots of hot chocolates and lattes.   I’ve abandoned a thought I had of returning to Palenque and entering Guatemala from the north in order to visit Tikal. I’m not ready to return to that climate just yet, and it involves more desolate travel on bad roads than I’m willing to accept. Instead I’ve decided to take the more conventional route that stays in the higher elevations, via Comitán and Huehuetenango. I feel like it’s been ages since I’ve been in my bike and could leave tomorrow but I’m staying another day in San Cristobal. My hotel is cheap and the town is interesting. I know that soon the fact that it’s economy is entirely dependent on tourists like me spending money will begin to wear, but for the moment I’m enjoying the choices I have on where to spend it. 

My new hotel. Not as fancy but just as comfortable
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sidewalks are paved with stones worn slick from use
Heart 0 Comment 0
The historic center is for tourists
Heart 1 Comment 0
This alley smelled of fresh leather
Heart 1 Comment 0
More tourist kitsch near one of the churches
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fruit sellers playing cards. I don’t understand the deck
Heart 1 Comment 0
More street pics
Heart 3 Comment 0
Interesting graffiti
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
It steepens at the north end of town
Heart 3 Comment 0
These streets are not bike friendly
Heart 1 Comment 0
Unlike the rural dogs who always chase if given the chance, Mexican city dogs are consistently chill
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was enjoying an afternoon beer when a funeral procession passed, playing fun music
Heart 0 Comment 0
I tried pox (prounced “pohsh”) made from fermented corn, sugar cane and wheat. Reminds me of tequila and for reasons I’m not clear on I ended up buying a small bottle
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m in a town where biomagnetic therapy is available
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0