03/20/24 San Cristobal de las Casas - south - CycleBlaze

March 20, 2024

03/20/24 San Cristobal de las Casas

I slept in and then spent the morning trying out different coffee shops. I decided I very much liked Tuxtla Gutiérrez, it has a livable city feel. 

My package arrived in the early afternoon and when I went to collect it I asked about busses to San Cristobal, having, noted that tomorrow is supposed to reach 98 degrees. There was one leaving in 30 minutes so I didn’t hesitate in buying a ticket. I got into town shortly before sunset and found a hotel near the center.

I walked around a bit in the evening, trying futilely to find something familiar from when I was last here, in December of ‘76.  San Cristobal is definitely a destination city, with the center dedicated to and full of foreign visitors. Being one of those myself, I will stay at least one day to explore and figure out where and how I go from here. 

I collected my package with clothes and other nice to have items
Heart 0 Comment 0
The bus station is next door to FedEx
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are dozens of migrants from Venezuela living at the bus station, waiting months for transit permission
Heart 0 Comment 0
The courtyard of my hotel. This is the off season and there are lots of nice hotels in town at affordable prices. I plan to move to a cheaper one tomorrow
Heart 2 Comment 0
Photographing the street
Heart 1 Comment 0
I decided to walk up this for the view
Heart 1 Comment 0
Neighbors united against alcohol or drug use in the area
Heart 0 Comment 0
I recall walking up to a church in San Cristobal, but in my memory the church was blue. And I don’t remember the long stairs, so I’m not sure what I’m recalling
Heart 1 Comment 0
The view on the way down. This is a large town
Heart 1 Comment 0
House with a convenience store conveniently next to the stairs
Heart 1 Comment 0
The plaza
Heart 0 Comment 0
A busy Wednesday night, in the off season
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0