03/19/24 Tuxtla Gutiérrez - south - CycleBlaze

March 19, 2024

03/19/24 Tuxtla Gutiérrez

Hanging around Tuxtla waiting for a package to appear
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was given incorrect information yesterday, the 9:30 bus from Palenque arrives in Tuxtla Gutiérrez at 3:30 am, not 5:30, so I was a bleary eyed mess when we pulled in. I hung around the bus station until the sun came up and then went over to Starbucks, the only place I could find open nearby that early. I went to FedEx when it opened (conveniently next to the bus station) and was told my package was not yet in Tuxtla so I won’t get it today.  So I got a room and will try again tomorrow. I didn’t mind today, this city has a nice bustle to it, with many nice coffee houses and cafes. I think what I really liked was being outside, walking, and not dripping with sweat. My plan for tomorrow is to give it until the afternoon for the package status to change and then leave for the next town over, about 12 miles. That will have me better positioned the next day for a very long climb to San Cristobal de las Casas. I’ll wait there and then bus back to Tuxtla once the package has arrived. I have considered just bussing to San Cristobal but I expect it to be scenic and it’s so nice not being hot and humid that I think it might be a nice ride. 

I sat in the bus terminal until it got light out
Heart 0 Comment 0
I found Starbucks open and nearby.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’d heard about the famous Marimba Park and went to check it out. No one was playing the public instrument
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Toluca sign is in the park
Heart 1 Comment 0
I passed this on the way to the park and decided it was affordable. It’s certainly comfortable and is a contributor to my general good mood today
Heart 1 Comment 0
Chamoyadas are the Icee equivalent to a michelada. I finally tried one today
Heart 2 Comment 0
A variety of base flavors to choose from, then chamoy sauce, lime juice and chile
Heart 0 Comment 0
This little girl appears to be running the elote stand all by herself. I also saw young boys, say age 10, shining shoes in the plaza
Heart 2 Comment 0
This place wasn’t bad
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sign in Marimba Park says marimba music at dancing every night beginning at 6 pm. But not tonight, evidently
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 3 miles (5 km)
Total: 2,816 miles (4,532 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0