03/01/24 Puebla - south - CycleBlaze

March 1, 2024

03/01/24 Puebla

Ran out of daylight before I ran out of city
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a straightforward day, but knocked off kilter by a late bus.  Traffic and a late departure saw me leaving the bus terminal in Puebla at 5 instead of 3:30. Rush hour traffic scared me off the highway and onto the streets where I zigzagged my way through the northern suburbs. I called it quits in the twilight and took a room in the first hotel that would have me.  

I appreciate the simplicity
Heart 2 Comment 0
I don’t think that’s how it works
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bus finally appeared, to our shared joy
Heart 0 Comment 0
The conductor didn’t bat an eye when I walked up with my bike
Heart 0 Comment 0
That was easy
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wanded for weapons before boarding and then after everyone is seated a person walked the length of the bus filming our faces without caps or sunglasses
Heart 1 Comment 0
After traveling for about an hour went through an immigration check point. An official walked the bus and asked a few people questions. I was ignored
Heart 0 Comment 0
Three people were told to grab their things and taken to this tent where they went through some procedure and boarded again. I’ve no idea what happened, but imagine that this is where the migrants I encountered riding down began walking
Heart 0 Comment 0
I left the Puebla bus terminal and googled a bike route out of the city. It took me here, pointing me onto the left fork
Heart 0 Comment 0
Florido(?) was sitting next to his bike and assured me he rides that way all the time, fixing things
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nevertheless it was too high focus for me and I began following a new, off-highway, google route that led me though some interesting places
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
This is still fully in the city
Heart 2 Comment 0
I got a room at La Quinta, next to Domino’s. At first I couldn’t get a room if I wanted to keep my bike inside but the attendant later took pity on me after it was clear this was the only place available in the now dark neighborhood
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m still very much in the suburbs
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 9 miles (14 km)
Total: 2,209 miles (3,555 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0