03/02/24 Ciudad Modelo - south - CycleBlaze

March 2, 2024

03/02/24 Ciudad Modelo

Heart 0 Comment 0

My orange juice guy took a look at my google route and said it was all bad dirt roads and encouraged me to take the toll road out of town and then the other toll road all the way to Veracruz. I followed his advice for the escape from the city, but chose to try the the free road, hoping to exchange wide shoulders for low traffic and having mixed results. 

The air was very bad, full of smoke and dust. I quit early when I found a fancy hotel in the very weird Ciudad Modelo, an urban planning goose egg. It’s well designed streets, several beautiful buildings, and zero people. There’s an apartment complex on one end that houses mostly workers at the Audi plant. No shops or taco stands, zero street life. It appears that there are 3 people staying here, I’m pretty sure the waitress is an AI. 

Looking back towards Puebla and seeing nothing. The air was all smoke and dust today
Heart 1 Comment 0
I took the free road towards Veracruz, hoping for roads like this
Heart 1 Comment 0
and also finding plenty of this
Heart 0 Comment 0
Passed through several towns, all with this general look
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stopped for fresh tortillas
Heart 1 Comment 0
These go well with bananas, peanut butter and honey
Heart 2 Comment 0
There was an “at home” feel cycling through here. I’m not sure if it was the scenery or the apocalyptic air
Heart 1 Comment 0
Three generations
Heart 1 Comment 0
Fire extinguisher training
Heart 0 Comment 0
More smoke, yes let’s
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The air was causing my sinuses to explode and when the wind picked up and turned I came upon this fancy hotel in the middle of nowhere
Heart 0 Comment 0
There’s an evil genius lair feel when entering Model City
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just zero people
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretLooks haunted or abandoned. Very sad.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 2,243 miles (3,610 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0