02/20/34 Cholula - south - CycleBlaze

February 20, 2024

02/20/34 Cholula

Heart 0 Comment 0

As tired as I was I had expected I’d sleep well, but I did not. It was the cold that got me. I was hoping it would warm up inside my tent after I’d been breathing in there for a while, but it was bone chilling cold all night long. At one point I was wearing long underwear, long pants, down jacket and wool cap and even then didn’t feel warm. I probably should have eaten more. So it was a long night but I must have got some rest because I didn’t feel too bad when I was woken by the sun.  It was a mostly downhill ride, where my hands got more tired from squeezing the brakes than my legs did from the little pedaling I had to do. 

The bluebird of happiness bouncing around the parking lot
Heart 1 Comment 0
Iztaccíhuatl in the morning as I was leaving
Heart 3 Comment 0
It’s 10 miles of dirt on the downhill side
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’d had some concerns about the quality given the recent weather, and while there were a few muddy spots it wasn’t bad
Heart 1 Comment 0
I never tire of this view
Heart 3 Comment 0
About 3 miles into the descent I came across this place playing pleasant music. It had a sit down toilet and coffee and I left it very happy
Heart 2 Comment 0
Still riding the dirt
Heart 2 Comment 0
Still staring at the volcano
Heart 1 Comment 0
I did notice other stuff as well
Heart 1 Comment 0
But mostly this has all been about Popocatépetl
Heart 3 Comment 0
Barely visible in the distant haze is Pico de Orizaba, at 18,500 ft it’s the highest in Mexico and third highest in North America
Heart 3 Comment 0
The pavement appears
Heart 1 Comment 0
I have to remember to look behind me now
Heart 2 Comment 0
Entering San Nicolas de Bari. Bad streets
Heart 0 Comment 0
But a pretty plaza. I didn’t stop
Heart 1 Comment 0
It looks very much the active volcano from this side
Heart 3 Comment 0
Iztaccíhuatl from the entrance to San Andres Calpan
Heart 1 Comment 0
Why not take another picture?
Heart 2 Comment 0
I stopped for lunch at a roadside taco stand and changed my order to “I’ll have one of those” when I saw what my table mate had ordered
Heart 0 Comment 0
Taco al placer is what I think it’s called. Whatever the name, it was delicious and filling
Heart 1 Comment 3
Karen PoretTaco al pastor..yum!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David ChavezTo Karen PoretIt wasn’t al pastor, that’s what I thought he said the first time and asked him to repeat. Then I stopped caring about the name and started eating 😋 It was a variety of meats, some kind of sausage (not chorizo), steak, and possibly chicken, plus a bed of rice.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Karen PoretTo David ChavezMy apologies!! I thought perhaps you just couldn’t think of it’s name.. it was tasty which is all that matters!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Far enough away to get both volcanoes in one shot
Heart 3 Comment 0
Inglorious entrance to Cholula. The road and general conditions improved as I got closer to the center of town but I didn’t take any pictures
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretNoticed the green triangle cycle priority sign in front right of your photos!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
As is my usual practice, I rode to the plaza and ate popsicles while searching for lodging on my phone
Heart 1 Comment 0
I found a very nice $30 Airbnb walking distance from the action but away from all the noise. I’ll be here two nights
Heart 1 Comment 0
I did laundry and then went into town for dinner
Heart 1 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraAh....clean kit...priceless.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
My Airbnb from the street
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m here to see the world’s largest pyramid (by volume). It’s underneath that church, where I’ll be visiting tomorrow
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pretty fountain in the zocalo
Heart 1 Comment 0
Popocatépetl peeking above the city
Heart 2 Comment 0
Oh
Heart 3 Comment 2
Karen PoretThe volcano smoke is more appealing than the carriage in the foreground. Looks like a giant duck. What do you think, David?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David ChavezTo Karen PoretThe plaza was all decked out for Valentines Day. In addition to the carriage there were hearts and swans
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 1,972 miles (3,174 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0