02/19/24 Pasó de Cortez - south - CycleBlaze

February 19, 2024

02/19/24 Pasó de Cortez

A tough but rewarding day
Heart 0 Comment 0

It took me close to 10 hours to make the climb up the pass. Initially I’d pedal and pause, pedal and pause, then as I got more and more tired I’d pedal and nap, pedal and nap. It got very steep around 11,000 feet and I simply couldn’t pedal anymore and walked until the grade dropped below 10%. I expected it to be a tough day and it was, but the up close volcano views made it worth the effort. 

Stopped at Oxxo for water
Heart 2 Comment 0
Iztaccíhuatl in the morning haze
Heart 1 Comment 0
Starting the climb out of Amecaneca
Heart 1 Comment 0
Little fires everywhere
Heart 1 Comment 0
Riding the Volcano Route
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of several roadside stands. Normally only open on weekends, but many were open today as well in the hopes of higher than normal traffic heading up to the fresh snow
Heart 1 Comment 0
Climbing in the forest
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looking down on Amecameca
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some flowers which I admired during one of my many breathers
Heart 2 Comment 0
12% grade, I dismounted and walked half a mile after my heart rate went through the roof
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking down on Amecameca
Heart 1 Comment 0
Popocatépetl did not disappoint
Heart 3 Comment 0
Near the top, I stopped here for a coke and quesadilla
Heart 2 Comment 0
Unmanned entrance to Iztaccíhuatl - Popocatépetl National Park
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sign says Pasó de Cortez underneath all the stickers
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bike and Popocatépetl
Heart 3 Comment 0
I was there
Heart 3 Comment 0
Iztaccíhuatl up close. It is a popular hike up to the summit
Heart 2 Comment 0
First time I’ve camped since Baja
Heart 2 Comment 0
There was a taco stand open at the top but I wasn’t hungry. I had noodles because drinking the broth was pleasant in cold and I figured I’d wake up hungry if I didn’t eat something
Heart 2 Comment 0
Iztaccíhuatl in the sunset
Heart 2 Comment 0
Popocatépetl in the sunset
Heart 3 Comment 0
I watched it puff until the cold drove me into my tent
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 1,944 miles (3,129 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraNice work! Kudos!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago