02/13/24 Cuernavaca - south - CycleBlaze

February 13, 2024

02/13/24 Cuernavaca

Dropped into Morelos without fanfare or signage
Heart 0 Comment 0

Not having failing tires or wayward packages to occupy my mind I was able to stay in the moment all day and quite enjoyed it. It wasn’t easy cycling, with several stretches of up to 11% grades, but the air, the scenery and the people were all really nice. I hit 9,25o feet, a new high for this trip, but thanks to a chance encounter it was a lot less climbing than I’d expected to have to do. 

Nevado de Toluca and bicycle
Heart 0 Comment 0
Smoke from the morning fires
Heart 1 Comment 0
A lot of this
Heart 0 Comment 0
He stopped baring his teeth once I pulled out my camera, so he looks like a good dog instead of a terrorist
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had stopped for an orange juice after the first climb when Gabriel drove up for sherry and quail’s eggs (“for potency” he said, with a sly grin). He showed me an alternate route to Cuernavaca that added 5 miles to the day but eliminated over a thousand feet of climbing and a whole lot of traffic
Heart 1 Comment 0
I got passed by cycling pilgrims
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The drivers didn’t mind they took the entire lane
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view at my high point of the day, but not the end of climbing
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pretty church near my summit
Heart 1 Comment 0
First encounter with passion fruit
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice, brings back pleasant memories
Heart 1 Comment 0
More cycling pilgrims
Heart 1 Comment 0
And a convoy of pilgrims in trucks. No walkers today
Heart 0 Comment 0
My route took me through or by several towns and villages. Each with at least one church
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pleasant scenes, clean fresh air
Heart 0 Comment 0
One town had a lot of places selling pulque
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sra. Juana María gave me free samples of pulque and aguamiel that left me with a decent buzz for a while
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was so nice to be cycling through this
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of places selling fresh flowers. Many tulips
Heart 0 Comment 0
A field of peas
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’d never seen green and yellow chorizo
Heart 0 Comment 0
I ordered a couple of tacos, even though I wasn’t hungry
Heart 0 Comment 0
Delicious. Made with black corn tamales, also a first for me
Heart 0 Comment 0
Saddles for sale
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riding through the forest
Heart 2 Comment 0
Trout tanks. Many restaurants selling trout today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Few villages in the forest but many individual houses and restaurants at nearly every turn
Heart 0 Comment 0
Javier was quite taken by my bike
Heart 0 Comment 0
The dirty secret is that you couldn’t go 10 feet without encountering litter
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretVery sad, indeed..
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
This sign asking people to not litter was surrounded by trash
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sierra Madre
Heart 0 Comment 0
The decent was long and steep and would have been a difficult climb. I may need to replace brake pads after today
Heart 2 Comment 0
A lot of the downhill stretch was lined by expensive private homes. I saw a few that were simply palatial
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still descending, Cuernavaca peaking up in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
I dropped into downtown Cuernavaca and followed Google to a cheap hotel I’d found earlier. I wanted an Airbnb but my app insisted that there were none, zero, available. I think it’s a bug
Heart 0 Comment 0
Almost died trying to take this picture
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jardín Juárez was busy
Heart 0 Comment 0
Palace of Cortes, once his home now a museum which I hope to visit tomorrow
Heart 1 Comment 0
My $50 oasis of calm a few blocks away from the center includes a strutting peacock. I’ll be here for two nights
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 1,876 miles (3,019 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0