02/12/24 Santiago Tianguistenco de Galeana - south - CycleBlaze

February 12, 2024

02/12/24 Santiago Tianguistenco de Galeana

Heart 0 Comment 0

I really enjoyed today. I saw a lot of interesting things, had a deeply satisfying encounter and am well positioned for the big climb to Cuernavaca tomorrow. A good day. 

The forecast was for more headwinds so I left early to try to get a jump on them
Heart 3 Comment 0
Traffic was atrocious for the first 8 miles, I couldn’t understand why
Heart 0 Comment 0
Then the answer appeared
Heart 0 Comment 0
A group of pilgrims on a 4 day trek to Chalma
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is the second largest pilgrimage in Mexico, larger than the one I encountered in Jalisco last month
Heart 1 Comment 0
The lead truck was blasting encouragement
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is an encampment of pilgrims who’d left Atlacalmuco yesterday, same as me
Heart 1 Comment 0
A bit of snow visible on Nevado de Toluca, fourth highest peak in Mexico (15,350 ft)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Toluca is a large city
Heart 1 Comment 0
With questionable bicycle infrastructure
Heart 2 Comment 0
The first of several mounted pilgrims taking a break before riding across Toluca
Heart 1 Comment 0
Roberto explained they’d ridden from San Bartolo Oxtotitlán, about 35 miles north and expected to arrive in Chalma tomorrow
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cosmovitral Botanical Gardens. Closed Mondays
Heart 1 Comment 0
That’s a pity, I’d have liked to visit. But not enough to stay a day
Heart 4 Comment 0
The caretaker wouldn’t let me take a peek around the door, no matter how much I pleaded
Heart 0 Comment 0
Plaza de los Mártires, main plaza in Toluca and surrounded by the government centers
Heart 1 Comment 0
It has petty fountains
Heart 1 Comment 0
VIPs in the plaza
Heart 0 Comment 1
Chamber of Deputies “The People’s House”
Heart 0 Comment 0
The statue of Hidalgo in front of the people’s house is graffitied with a request for legalized abortion
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretSuch a pity to deface this..channel your change positively for a better outcome..
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Hunger strikers for human rights in front of the executive building. Nobody was willing to offer any details
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a cycle lane
Heart 0 Comment 2
Karen PoretIn USA at least, cars would be towed away ( money in the city coffers, mostly.. not for the rule breaking 🙄
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Mike AylingNot an uncommon sight here in Oz.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
This is graffiti complaining about the lack of respect for cyclists
Heart 0 Comment 0
And this one reads “The autonomous University of the State of Mexico does not protect the Otomi People. It exterminates them with its fucking capitalist English university”
Heart 0 Comment 0
I passed through the charming Toluca suburb of Metepec
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was market day and the street I’d been routed through was abuzz with shops and food stalls
Heart 2 Comment 0
A pretty town
Heart 2 Comment 0
After Metepec I came upon a coffee house in a residential area and stopped for lunch. Claudia and I really hit it off and we talked for a long time
Heart 2 Comment 0
She’s convinced me to go to Oaxaca after Puebla
Heart 3 Comment 0
I had a legit bike path for a while after leaving Claudia’s. Which is good because the promised wind had arrived and riding had become difficult
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fancy houses in a gated community near the bike path
Heart 0 Comment 0
The bike lane ended and I was dumped into the countryside
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
According to RideWithGPS I’m on a 100% paved route
Heart 0 Comment 2
Karen PoretPaved for horses!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Mike AylingRideWithGPS once told me that that they use Google Maps and other third party providers!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Headwinds
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I eventually met a proper road leading to a proper town
Heart 1 Comment 0
I celebrated by having popsicles at a shop decorated with Archangel Michael
Heart 1 Comment 0
I encountered more mounted pilgrims, coming from the south
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stopped for more ice cream in one of the many towns south of Toluca
Heart 1 Comment 0
I got routed through a lot of different roads. I don’t like cobblestones but I do like tree tunnels. I walked this segment
Heart 1 Comment 2
Mike AylingWhat is the other side of the barbed wire?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David ChavezVery rich people
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
I passed on the hourly rate and took a room for the night
Heart 0 Comment 0
This update composed while sitting in the garden outside my room
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 1,835 miles (2,953 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0