02/05/24 El Rosario Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary - south - CycleBlaze

February 5, 2024

02/05/24 El Rosario Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary

I took the local “combi” up to the sanctuary.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It follows steep stone road that passes through lots of small villages
Heart 0 Comment 0
I got there early, while the butterflies were still lounging in the trees higher up
Heart 0 Comment 0
It’s a strenuous hike up to where they sleep. Starts out with stairs
Heart 0 Comment 0
Then a dirt path. I was glad to have my walking sticks
Heart 0 Comment 0
I saw a bird
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMatches red warbler perfectly!

https://ebird.org/species/redwar1
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
It was frustratingly difficult to try to capture the feeling using my simple camera
Heart 1 Comment 0
But there were LOTS of butterflies lounging in the trees
Heart 2 Comment 0
As it warmed up they started flying about
Heart 3 Comment 0
I found it easier to focus on the ones on the ground. The fliers just wouldn’t stay still
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
I wasn’t alone. This is the early crowd. By the time I descended the trail was packed
Heart 0 Comment 0
So many butterflies, the air was full. I’m sure I saw more today than I’ve ever seen before or will
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wherever there was water there was a crowd
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m glad I came, I was not disappointed
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraWow. That's all there is to say. Enjoying following along.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Karen PoretTo Patrick O'HaraAgreed! Thank you for sharing the photos with us so we can comment how fortunate we are to view this.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago