02/04/24 Angangueo - south - CycleBlaze

February 4, 2024

02/04/24 Angangueo

Heart 0 Comment 0

What a difference a day makes!  No wind, light traffic and pleasant temperatures made the short ride up to Angangueo a joy. I topped out in the plaza at 8500 feet, highest elevation to date since leaving San Diego. 

I had coffee and cupcakes at the Oxxo across the street from my hotel, and then stopped in the town of Aporo for tamales
Heart 1 Comment 0
and orange juice. Every day, fresh squeezed juice!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I had my choice of Aporo signs
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cooking up pig products
Heart 0 Comment 0
Following the signs up the hill
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice mountain air, decent road, not a lot of traffic
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just a house which caught my eye. I guess for all the firewood out front
Heart 1 Comment 0
Share the road!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I encountered a procession, it wasn’t going far
Heart 0 Comment 0
But there were a couple of groups
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering Angangueo. It’s a vertical town, basically a narrow road that goes straight up
Heart 1 Comment 0
I found a hotel at the bottom, but pedaled up to the plaza in order to hit 8,500 feet
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Found a young dinosaur in the plaza
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Several murals, this one all about the butterflies. Note the National Geographic cover in the middle
Heart 0 Comment 0
I remember when this issue came out (1976). It impressed me greatly then and is the reason I am here now
Heart 2 Comment 0
I walked (trudged) up to the monument to the miners for the view
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking northwest to where I rode in from
Heart 0 Comment 0
and northeast towards the plaza
Heart 1 Comment 0
and across the town to the other side
Heart 0 Comment 0
This looked interesting, I walked down for a closer look
Heart 0 Comment 0
It’s a memorial to the migrants who have died trying to get to the US
Heart 1 Comment 0
The plaque
Heart 0 Comment 0
Google’s lousy translation, but you get the gist (I can’t believe I actually complained about the result of pointing my phone at Spanish text)
Heart 0 Comment 0
More murals
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Callejone del Arte (Art Alley) has the history of the town
Heart 1 Comment 0
I liked the checkerboard
Heart 2 Comment 0
Security
Heart 0 Comment 1
Houses in a vertical town
Heart 1 Comment 0
In the plaza
Heart 0 Comment 0
Courtyard of my hotel. Some of the rooms evidently have fireplaces and a guest asked about firewood. They were told they refrain from fires now, for the butterfly’s sake. They are 2,000 feet above me, I’m taking a bus there in the morning
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 1,696 miles (2,729 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0