02/03/24 defeated by the wind in Irimbo - south - CycleBlaze

February 3, 2024

02/03/24 defeated by the wind in Irimbo

Heart 0 Comment 0

My plan was to reach the town of Angangueo but that didn’t happen. The air is nice at this elevation, but today there was too much of it, and all in my face. Uphill against a consistent 15 mph was tiring enough, but the gusts at twice that are what ground me down. With my frame bag I present a lot of surface for the wind to push against and it was a noisy struggle which I decided I didn’t need to endure, so I didn’t. 

I’m heading in the right direction
Heart 0 Comment 0
Strong headwinds today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Extensive road work in progress. This, plus the wind, sapped all the joy from today’s ride
Heart 0 Comment 0
However the scenery was pleasant enough
Heart 2 Comment 0
Egrets following the tractor
Heart 2 Comment 0
Happy to again have a camera that can catch them
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bricks and tiles for sale all along this road. This is one of many
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tired of fighting the wind, I quit early at the first, and only, hotel between Maravatio and my intended destination of Angangueo. This is just outside the town of Irimbo, but I don’t plan to visit. I’m content to sit in my room and listen to the wind while I read my Kindle and binge watch Griselda
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 1,677 miles (2,699 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0