02/02/24 Maravatio - south - CycleBlaze

February 2, 2024

02/02/24 Maravatio

A climbing day, but with gentle grades. I’m still recovering my legs after my long break and got tired
Heart 0 Comment 0
Festival prep continued into the night. These flowers had appeared when I left my hotel this morning
Heart 2 Comment 0
There were dozens of booths especially for tamale vendors, who were just getting set up
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tamales and atole has been my go to breakfast lately, it satisfies and lasts
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretBeautiful artwork on the chairs! ( hmmm. A dodger fan in the background :(
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
I’ve been riding roads like this, two lanes with no shoulder. Not bad when traffic is light
Heart 0 Comment 0
A little tense when it’s not, but drivers have been considerate
Heart 0 Comment 0
Good black dirt
Heart 1 Comment 0
I had a jolly lunch at this taco stand in Acámbaro. Jorge, standing with the ladies, was curious about my trip and ended up treating me
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jorge has been to Mississippi and Alabama several times. He said he works long enough to buy a nice motorcycle and then rides it back home. He has four now.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Don’t believe the sour faces, these ladies were a complete hoot and insisted we take this picture
Heart 2 Comment 0
These birds were swarming around behind a tractor plowing the field
Heart 1 Comment 0
Entered Michoacan in the afternoon
Heart 0 Comment 0
First look at Michoacan
Heart 2 Comment 0
The road into Maravatio was terrible. Rough, full of holes and cars and a nasty wind made for unpleasant riding
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ni Una Más is a campaign against violence to women, a national problem
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was tired and glad to arrive and call it a day
Heart 1 Comment 0
Someone had an idea and made it happen
Heart 3 Comment 1
Karen PoretGuess the Michelin man had to “go”…;)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
I found this modest hotel a few blocks from the center of town. Quiet and cheap
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretAnd a see thru ventilation system on the top floor ?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
“It was never so easy to get to heaven” a monument to a martyr who was beatified by the pope in 2016
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walking back to my hotel after dinner
Heart 0 Comment 0
Overflow crowd at mass tonight. Something special was going on, many women were carrying what I first thought were young babies but were in fact dolls. I didn’t ask
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 1,662 miles (2,675 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0