Day 7 - Myrtle Beach to Georgetown - Sound-Cloud Solo Tour 2021 - CycleBlaze

May 8, 2021

Day 7 - Myrtle Beach to Georgetown

After a cool temp, great sleeping weather, I headed south as planned.  Trying to stay off 17 Bus was difficult but we got to our destination of Georgetown SC around 4ish.  

The route included riding a trail that is part of Huntington State Park I left it at Pawleys.  

Heart 3 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerI’d like to run on this road.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerThe Trucker managed it well.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

While on the trail met a couple from Pittsburgh.  They were so much fun to talk with.  We had a lot in common - biking and family (kids)

Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerThey were so nice and friendly. I could easily tour with them. They haven’t done any bagging yet.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I hope they stay in touch too. We road a good distance together on a great. (Sad that the trail isn't the whole from Myrtle  Beach life would be a lot simpler.)

Thanks for riding along guys!

When I left my friends I tried to find my way to Georgetown.  I ended up down by the beach ; not sure where but it was below Pawleys.  It was pretty but came to a dead end.  There was a beautiful empty beach there.

Photo later sorry.

I was forced back to 17 Bus that was hard to navigate.  Maybe I'm a whimp, but this was dangerous.  I ended up stopping at a new estate planning office, the only thing I found except for a diner (no one wanted to talk to me there.)

Anyway the secretary was there, only works Saturday, get that.  She called her husband Bob, and he agreed to drive me to Georgetown over two bridges.  

What a couple!  What nice people!  Bob and I talked about our families and kids.  His one son works on tugs boats; his other son is hoping to do the same.  Bob is retired and now sells shrimp. Crazy right. 

One last thing I found out about Bob, he was a helicopter pilot I'm Vietnam.  What a guy, very modest about that I could tell, but proud!

Thank you guys, wow ... 

Well those are the highlights.  Wifey found me a hidden  campground called "Hidden Campground and Marina.  It sits on a river  south of downtown off 17.  No thrills, but nice people and a cold shower.  Oh, a cold beer and vending machines that work.

Heart 4 Comment 1
Daniel SpanglerSo beautiful!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Important Note:   

I have decided to revise my route and not go to Charleston.  I will be heading to Monkes Corner to connect with my northern cues.   Safety concerns on 17 and  17 Bus worry me.  I'll answer questions on that if you wish.   (Bill and Tamora, thank you for chatting about my concerns and helping me think it out.)

Hey here are a few interesting things about SC.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 359 miles (578 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Jeanna & Kerry SmithKeith,

I can't imagine that you didn't like US17. Having large semi's whizzing by right next to you is so relaxing :-). Actually one of the worst rides we had was on US17 just south of Myrtle Beach. We got caught in a severe lightning storm and it was raining so hard, I could barely see. I knew that the drivers (who didn't slow down), couldn't see see much either, so it was nerve wracking. We made it OK, bit agreed that we'd never ride 17 again.

Kerry
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerKerry I personal won't ride in ZC again. I mean the people were nice but the roads need help
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Daniel SpanglerGood decision to stick to the safe roads man.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerI’m thinking more about doing the great divide or something with no roads.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago