Day 8 -.Georgetown to Monckes Corner SC - Sound-Cloud Solo Tour 2021 - CycleBlaze

May 9, 2021

Day 8 -.Georgetown to Monckes Corner SC

Better roads than expected....

Heart 2 Comment 0

I woke after another good sleep at Hidden Campground.  I wonder how many cyclists realize that is even there.  No thrills, but a good place to over night in Georgetown.

I wanted to mention Georgetown proper (downtown) is a hike over a bridge, but worth the visit.  Big Tuna is where I ate, wonderfully good.  

Big Tuna - Crab cake, black beans and rice, onion rings, water and a beer.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Big Tuna was full of character.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today, like I mentioned was a route change.  After my experience with US 17 and Alternate 17, I was drained.  So, l chopped the Charleston route from my vocabulary and set a course to Monckes Corner.  The route followed my original plan, but just continuing to Monckes.

Heart 2 Comment 0

The roads were better than expected.  My route used Monford and Pennyroyal, both beautiful, to pickup 17 Alt toward Jamestown and on to Monckes Corner.

Heart 2 Comment 0

There were shoulders on the road, maybe considered small and inconsistent, but manageable compared to 17 coming out of Myrtle Beach.  

Traffic was light, but it was Sunday.  Probably would be a different story on week days.

One very cool thing I found on this out was a roadside prayer box.  What a cool thing - a great place to stop and get out of the sun.  A small church sits across the street.  (Location: intersection of 17 and 41)

Roadside Prayer Box looking toward intersection
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Dropped my prayer request in the box.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Riding on mother's this year was hard...my mom would have been waiting for a call..

Love You...
Heart 2 Comment 0

A State Trooper confirm directions and I was on my way.  

My only cup of coffee - yes honey too all from the handlebar cafe
Heart 2 Comment 0

A solid 50 miles with two convenience stores.  There was nothing else so...except views like these...

Dale's - my family gets this
Heart 2 Comment 4
brandon spangleris that your secret retirement business? just checking in?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerCool right. I almost road past it; so glad I turned around.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tamora StumDo they have Country Dancing at Dale's Country Store....Yee Haw!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerYes do by the famous Tamora HOOTER - she is pretty
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 3 Comment 2
brandon spanglerthat's the south carolina wilderness alright
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerI almost road past this too. It was early in my morning and I didn't want to stop. .beautiful though
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Clearing forest is a big thing down here.
Heart 2 Comment 2
brandon spanglerit's basically all they do
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
brandon spanglerit's basically all they do
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Oh did find a used car...

Heart 2 Comment 1
brandon spanglershoulda picked it up and rode it into charleston
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I won't bore you with many more details.  I am retired military so wifey found another hidden gem.   Short Stay Monckes Corner.  If you are military or retired check it out. GEM!

Great staff and great waterfront facilities. 

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 410 miles (660 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Tamora StumClean that coffee mug hubby!!! Have fun in Moncks Corner! Love You!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
brandon spanglerTo Tamora Stumgreat job tam you are the true wingman - wingwoman. winghero!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerBrandon she is...I loved your mom's day video. More more
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerI love that image. Cool a coffee bar ony bike
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithKeith,

We know what you mean about the lack of breaks. We rerouted this morning because our original route had 35 miles with no stops. We found a route that was about the same distance, but had C-Stores about every 15 miles. However, it added over 400 ft. of elevation - the things we'll do for a Diet Coke!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago