To Masserat - Skipping About the Continent - CycleBlaze

May 9, 2022

To Masserat

The day started with sparkling blue skies, crispness in the air, and perhaps  my favorite breakfast - granola, yogurt, jams, and bread, all homemade.  After yesterday’s experience with the ups and downs of the Périgord-Limousin regional park, I made some slight route adjustments and had a splendid day. There was a lot of climbing, but it was largely on gentler grades with downhills that even I could enjoy. I won’t say too much about the day as the internet has been a bit sketchy the last couple of days and I don’t want to get too far behind on the journal.

The first part of the ride was within the regional park, through a mostly wooded landscape on medium-sized roads that wound up and down through the towns and small communes of La Coquille, Saint-Priest-les-Fougères, and Jumilhac-le-Grand. After the climb to  Jumilhac-le-Grand, the landscape opened to agricultural field and small livestock farms. Soon, I said good-bye to the Périgord-Limousin park and Dordogne and entered the department of Haute-Vienne. 

Heading to La Coquille on a beautiful spring morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
La Coquille
Heart 2 Comment 0
The small commune of Saint-Priest-les-Fougères
Heart 5 Comment 0
Saint-Priest-les-Fougères -the first town I've seen to recognize it's location in the Parc naturel régional Périgord-Limousin
Heart 0 Comment 0
Saint-Priest-les-Fougères - where pizza is available for 3 hrs every Monday
Heart 5 Comment 1
Jacquie GaudetHow very French!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
In Saint-Priest-les-Fougères
Heart 5 Comment 0
Vivien George wants to see where we are
Heart 4 Comment 0
Our approximate route today through the Parc paturel régional Périgord-Limousin
Heart 0 Comment 0
Through the woods of the Parc paturel régional Périgord-Limousin
Heart 3 Comment 0
Pilgrims on the way to Compostela, or just out enjoying a nice walk? I couldn't get a clear answer but they seemed to be enjoying themselves
Heart 3 Comment 0
One of the few wooden barns I've come across - a bit saggy but still housing a tractor
Heart 3 Comment 0
Château de Jumilhac!
Heart 8 Comment 1
Scott AndersonLooks like a forest!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
In Jumilhac-le-Grand.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Parc naturel régional Périgord-Limousin
Heart 2 Comment 0
Near the southeastern corner of Parc naturel régional Périgord-Limousin,
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leaving the Parc naturel régional Périgord-Limousin
Heart 2 Comment 0

Shortly after leaving the park, I stopped for a coffee and a pastry in the lovely town of Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche. When planning the tour, I’d thought it'd be a great place for an overnight, but couldn’t make it work. After my snack, I continued on through Haute-Vienne, first on one of the larger department roads to Coussac-Bonneval, then back on the smaller D79 to Meuzac. The legs were getting tired as I crossed into the department of Correze and made the final uphill push to Masserat and the Logis Hôtel de la Tour, located at the top of the town by the Tour de Masserat. I was done for the day, a challenging but very rewarding day on the bike.

In Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche
Heart 8 Comment 0
In Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche
Heart 1 Comment 0
In Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche
Heart 1 Comment 0
In Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche
Heart 2 Comment 0
My stop for elevenses in Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche
Heart 5 Comment 0
Apple cake and an espresso
Heart 5 Comment 0
On the way to Coussac-Bonneval
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Entering Coussac-Bonneval - I wasn't able to poke around the castle as the Château Bonneval is privately owned
Heart 5 Comment 0
In Coussac-Bonneval
Heart 6 Comment 0
Looking at tomorrow's challenge on the way to Meuzac
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the way to Meuzac
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lunch stop along the Les Baraques river
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Tour de Masserat beckons me
Heart 3 Comment 0
On the way to Masserat
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking out my hotel room at the Tour de Masserat - I made it!
Heart 10 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 655 miles (1,054 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Keith KleinHi,

Your route criss-crosses the routes I took when I was last in the Limousin. It’s both fun and frustrating to see what I missed.
You’ll be coming through Gevrey in a few days, and we’ll have a chance to compare notes.

Cheers,

Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago