Return to Paris - Skipping About the Continent - CycleBlaze

April 29, 2022

Return to Paris

My return trip from Naples to Munich to Paris was one of the easiest I’ve had flying with Vivien George. It all went so smoothly - getting to the airport in Naples, the two connecting flights, the taxi home from Orly. 

There is a lot of construction going on at the Naples airport and I’d had some trouble with the taxi from the airport when I arrived a few weeks ago. Therefore, I had my B&B hosts arrange for a driver to take me to the airport. An engaging ex-Rugby player, Roby not only drove me to the airport but navigated the bike bag through all the confusing sidewalks and ramps and delivered us right to the check-in counter.When I booked my round trip ticket to Naples, the price for business class return flights were actually cheaper than economy! So, there was no cost for checking the bike, I got lounge access, priority boarding, and a free meal. Sweet. 

One unusual feature at the Naples airport was the self-service oversize baggage drop off, located in a remote location quite a distance from the check-in counter. It took me a few tries to realize I was supposed to scan the baggage ticket, and not my boarding pass. Once cleared to proceed, I pressed the green button and the rollers started up, taking Vivien George through the black curtain and into the bowels of airport baggage sorting. I just hoped I would see her again in Paris. 

In fact, Vivien George came down the oversize luggage ramp at Orly before the regular bags were spinning on their carousel. I loaded up the cart and trekked to the taxi stand, only to find a long line of people winding through the cordoned lanes to the next available cab. As I approached the entrance to the queue, I was directed to the “oversize lane” where I jumped the line and snagged a van that took me home in no time at all. Easy peasy.

Nothing says "end of tour" more than Vivien George in her bikecase
Heart 2 Comment 0
Self-service oversize baggage drop-off at Naples Airport. I was stuck on Step 2 for several minutes, trying to scan my boarding pass instead of the baggage tag. Although it does say scan the bar code on the boarding pass!
Heart 1 Comment 1
Jacquie GaudetWow! At the Vancouver airport, oversize baggage is inspected manually. We had to open up our bike bags and remove everything that wasn’t the bike for separate inspection, the most intense scrutiny yet.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I don't usually look out windows, but when the pilot said we were passing Venice I jumped the aisle to take a look
Heart 2 Comment 0

I’ve been back in Paris now for two days, grocery shopping, doing laundry, settling in. I did manage to go for a long walk to the city center today, stopping for a while in Luxembourg Gardens and the Tuileries. The tourist numbers have increased over the past few weeks but my neighborhood still feels like a comfortable pair of sneakers, with welcome back smiles from the fromagerie, boulangerie and even the curmudgeonly fruit vendor.

 I’ll be in Paris for two weeks and posting sporadically until mid-May when I leave for a short tour in Burgundy. It may be short, but it promises to be epic. Watch these pages!

Le Palais du Luxembourg
Heart 3 Comment 0
Fontaine Saint-Sulpice
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Seine
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Louvre and Louvre Pyramid
Heart 4 Comment 0
On the Left Bank
Heart 3 Comment 0
Tour de France posters for sale on the left bank
Heart 6 Comment 0
Classic climbs - and Easy Rider
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonThat’s great you got to fly business class and everything went so smoothly! I can’t wait to read about your epic next tour. I hope you meet some nice people along the way!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonI do hear that there might be some nice and interesting folks in Burgundy - fingers crossed :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago