Introduction - Skipping About the Continent - CycleBlaze

Introduction

I had planned to be in Paris entertaining my twin nieces. However, their visit was rescheduled at the last minute due to passport difficulties – I won’t elaborate, but it does seem as if nothing in the US is getting completed on time. I suddenly had a small window of free time before the next visitor arrived – a window long enough to plan a short bike tour in France. While in Limoux, Rich Frasier and I discussed various options amenable to week-long tours, and I mentioned the area around Beauvais and Amiens, cities given pretty high marks by Team Anderson as they passed through on their way to England. Rich pointed out that both cities have very impressive gothic cathedrals, as do nearby cities of Rouen and Reims. And so the idea for a Cathedral tour was born.

It was fairly easy to put together a short tour that included five of what are generally considered among the top ten most beautiful cathedrals in France - located in Rouen, Beauvais, Amiens, Luan, and Reims. After adding a couple of overnights in towns with WWI/II museums, I was set to go. The tour will start in Rouen and finish in Reims. Along the way, I will no doubt learn a bit more about Gothic architecture and the history of each museum – information I will share sparingly as the internet is easily accessed should you be inclined to learn more. I will probably flood you pictures of things I find interesting, but will try to keep it below tsunami level. And of course there will be cycling.

Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris - one of my favorite places to visit, both before and after the fire
Heart 6 Comment 2
Keith AdamsI was surprised at the depth of my reaction when the fire happened. It saddened me to a degree I hadn't expected to think of the building completely gone. I was equally relieved and pleased to learn later that it was far from the total loss I had feared initially.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesTo Keith AdamsI agree. I was surprised how much it hurt to hear it was burning. It also seemed like the whole world was mourning as well.

Susan, this tour sounds wonderful. I’ve been to the Reims cathedral at least and look forward to seeing how it looks some ** years later.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonHave a great time!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago