Day Rides in Vipava Valley - Skipping About the Continent - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2022 to June 21, 2022

Day Rides in Vipava Valley

The decision to bypass Idrijia in favor of an extra night in Vipava worked out splendidly. The weather has stayed unseasonably warm, so I was able to put together some day rides that left me options for returning to home base if the heat and/or the hills proved to be a little too taxing. I’ll let the pictures chronicle the rides as there’s not much more to add and  I’m getting a bit too far behind on the journal.  I would note that Vipava is an excellent base to explore the valley and areas of the Karst Plateau to the south. My one recommendation would be a visit during cooler times of the year - during the fall grape harvest seems ideal.

First, a shout-out goes to Guesthouse Koren and the wonderful Nevenka. She is a warm-hearted and kind soul who helped plan my rides to take in the best sights/best roads in the valley. She offered me fresh juice after every ride and made dinner reservations at two of the towns finest eating establishments. She made me feel like a member of the family and I gave her a big hug when I left.

Guesthouse Koren in Vipava
Heart 5 Comment 0
The Guesthouse caters to cyclists and there were several groups/pairs/individuals who passed through during my time there.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nevenka, the soul of Guesthouse Koren who makes it a special place
Heart 4 Comment 0

June 20, Vipava Valley Vineyard and Village Tour

The plan for today was a circuit through and around some of the small villages and settlements that dot the Vipava Valley. I first headed south along the hills leading up to the Karst Plateau, with the idea of looping back to the villages at the foot of the Trnovo Forest Plateau. I didn’t quite make the whole loop, but enjoyed a delightful, if challenging ride.

Looking southeast toward toward the foot of the valley, with the Trnovo Forest Plateau rising above
Heart 2 Comment 0
For Ken and Tricia Graham
Heart 2 Comment 0
The valley is a popular place for paragliders and ultralights
Heart 2 Comment 0
The vineyards of the Vipava Valley - known best for its white varietals, including the indigenous Zelen and Pinela varieties
Heart 3 Comment 0
In the village of Goče
Heart 1 Comment 0
In the village of Goče
Heart 3 Comment 0
On the narrow streets of Goče
Heart 0 Comment 0
The streets in Goče are so narrow it sometimes required lookouts to help sort out the who, what, and when to proceed
Heart 2 Comment 0
In the vineyards near Goče
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking back on Goče as I climb toward Erzelj
Heart 3 Comment 0
Time for a rest on the steep gravel road to Erzelj
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looking down on one of the hamlet of Erzelj. Erzelj is actually not a village but a series of small hamlets scattered in the hills, usually around sources of water
Heart 3 Comment 0
A memorial to those from Erzelj who died in WWII, The top section is comprised of WWII rifle parts while the bottom lists the name of the deceased
Heart 3 Comment 0
Terraced vineyards above Planina
Heart 3 Comment 0
Terraced vineyards above Planina
Heart 3 Comment 0
The village of Planina - I think
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking north across the valley towards Ajdovščina. My intention was to visit a Roman fortress on the north side of Ajdovščina and the village of Vrhpolje, shown on the right. However, the heat and hills had taken there toll, so I took advantage of a nice tailwind and sped back to Vipava on highway 444
Heart 3 Comment 0
Church of St. Stephen, Vipava
Heart 2 Comment 0
In Vipava
Heart 3 Comment 0
Nevenka offered juice, but I opted for ice cream and a Fanta
Heart 5 Comment 0
In Vipava
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

June 21, Day Ride to Stanjel

I considered two options for today’s ride – a visit to the villages along the north side of the valley that I’d skipped on yesterday’s ride, or a trip up to the Karst Plateau to the medieval village of Stanjel.  The Karst Plateau/Stanjel won in landslide. I once again devised a couple of alternative routes home, and had a wonderful ride up to the Karst Plateau along the low-traffic regional highways. Stanjel was originally a fortified city with a castle built in the 15th century, but the both the town and castle were heavily damaged in WWII. I spent quite some time exploring the old castle grounds, which are undergoing restoration. As far as I could see, the old town is comprised primarily of the Parish Church of the Prophet Daniel, numerous B&Bs, and individual houses. However, I could find no place to stop for lunch or a cold beverage. 

A group of bikers who over-nighted at Guesthouse Koren are just about ready to head out for today's ride
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the way to Stanjel
Heart 1 Comment 0
Shaded doorway in Trebižani
Heart 4 Comment 0
Wooden door with carved panels in Trebižani
Heart 4 Comment 0
First look at Stanjel and the Parish Church of the Prophet Daniel
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Stanjel
Heart 2 Comment 0
In Stanjel
Heart 2 Comment 0

I had a little fun taking photos of the Parish Church of the Prophet Daniel as viewed through the castle ruins. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
I climbed up to the very top of the fortification for amazing views in all directions - here looking north over the Vipava Valley
Heart 2 Comment 0
View from the top
Heart 2 Comment 0
And south over the Karst Plateau
Heart 3 Comment 0
The vane atop the Parish Church of the Prophet Daniel
Heart 2 Comment 0
Finding no cafe or eating establishment, I dug into my provisions for a small lunch on this bench overlooking the Karst Plateau. It was quite enjoyable until this old toothless man joined me on the bench, lit up a cigarette, and started hacking away. I quickly took my leave.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This fixie needs fixin'
Heart 3 Comment 0
After leaving Stanjel I rode on to the village of Kobjeglava, whose church is shown here. However, I realized I'd left my water bottle on the side of the road - luckily it was there when I went back. I decided it was a sign that I need to keep heading back - all the way to Vipava
Heart 3 Comment 0
I took a little detour through the vineyards of the Karst Plateau before retracing my route back to Vipava
Heart 2 Comment 0
Vineyards of the Karst Plateau, Stanjel, Trnovo Forest Plateau
Heart 2 Comment 0
This view of Stanjel shows the top of the old castle grounds with the remains of stone fortification visible to the left of the church steeple. It looks like the smoking man has given up his bench seat
Heart 2 Comment 0
On the way back to Vipava
Heart 1 Comment 0
Darko and Sonja - two Slovenians heading to Stanjel with all the time in the world. As they reminded me, it's the longest day of the year.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Back down in the Vipava Valley
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 1,441 miles (2,319 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0