A Day of Unexpected Turns - Skipping About the Continent - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2022

A Day of Unexpected Turns

It’s been nice to be back in my old Paris haunts for the past few days. I've spent most of my time doing errands in preparation for a month in Slovenia. Although my departure is still eight days off, Team Anderson will arrive in Paris for a couple of days and I will spend the weekend with friends in Burgundy. However, the best laid plans….

 The bike shop called this afternoon and the news was not good – Vivien George had a broken rear dropout/derailleur hanger, a small, inexpensive and essential bike part that connects the rear derailleur to the bike frame. And because bike frames differ in size and shape at the connection point, derailleur hangers are usually specific for the make/model/year of your bike. Though there are some universal/interchangeable derailleur hangers, this was not the case for Vivien George. So, we needed to find a replacement hanger before any work could start.

After getting the call, I hurried over to the bike shop, a short walk from my apartment. Max and the other mechanics had been trying to source a replacement hanger from other Paris bike shops that sold Moots. After I clarified that the SCARP etched on the top tube was my name and not the Moots model, we called the one bike shop in Paris that sold Moots. No luck. Back home, I called Moots headquarters in Colorado Springs who gave me the name of the Moots distributor in France and the likely hangar part number. The result of subsequent phone calls and emails is that the distributor does have the part and is shipping it to my local shop, who will install it as soon as it arrives. Great news!! However, I’m not sure when it will arrive nor how long the repair will take – but I’m afraid that Vivien George will not be ready in time for our flight to Slovenia on June 8. Stay tuned for ongoing developments.

Back in the old hood
Heart 3 Comment 0
Vivien George waits patiently for good news. Me, a little more anxious.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The derailleur hanger probably broke during loading/packing/driving for the car trip to Paris. Lesson learned - always carry a spare derailleur hanger
Heart 3 Comment 2
Lucy MartinFingers crossed the part arrives in time for Slovenia. I am reminded of the giant poster in the BikeWorld repair workshop with pictures of about a hundred different derailleur hangers.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Lucy MartinI remember asking Steve if I need one for the Moots and he said No, it's titanium! True for the bike, but apparently not the derailleur hangar.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

In the midst of all bike drama, I was awaiting word that Scott and Rachael Anderson had arrived in Paris. They had booked an apartment not too far from me and we’d planned to meet for dinner at one of my neighborhood cafés. Scott called around five to say they’d run into a bit of a snag – it seems there was a plumbing problem and that there was no water in their apartment. I’m sure Scott will fill you in on the details, but the end result was they had to find a new place to stay. I immediately offered them my apartment as a temporary and/or permanent fix – it is fairly spacious with two bathrooms and a sofa bed. And so it came to pass - another mini-Cycle Blaze reunion in the 15th Arrondissement of Paris.

Rachael in my apartment, looking a bit stunned and forlorn after a day of bumpy rides and temporary homelessness
Heart 5 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonGreat picture and you got it right how I was feeling. Thanks for rescuing us.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
After dinner walk through the neighborhood
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Laura ChiharaFingers crossed that the part arrives in time!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago