Are we ready? - Sicilian Circuit - CycleBlaze

February 21, 2023

Are we ready?

As usual, I'm not as physically ready as I'd like to be before a tour.

Last year, we hadn't been on our bikes in the five months between returning from Spain and cycling out of Florence, but at least we were in decent shape from lots of cross-country skiing.  This winter hasn't been going quite so well.

On December 16 I slipped on a step and came down hard on the landing 7 inches below.  This was enough to cause a "meniscal strain", as my physiotherapist put it, on my previously-damaged left knee.  I could hardly walk for a couple of weeks but Al set up my road bike on the indoor trainer and I was working on knee mobility, as directed by my physio, by day 2.  I'm not a fan of indoor riding (half an hour of spinning is generally my limit), but perhaps that's because mine is a dumb trainer and I associate it with recovering from injury.  After all, that's why I bought it back in 2014.

It took until the end of January before I could resume my skate-skiing fitness plan and, thanks to the poor ski season this year, I haven't advanced much.  I don't want to ski heavy fresh coastal snow or refrozen crud on my recovering knee.  Al's been doing better, but even he is not skiing the distances he did last year.

I've also gotten out on my bike a few times but the weather has either been cold and the streets icy or salty (or both) or very wet--or we've had trades working in our home repairing the deficiencies we reported almost a year ago.  I'm hoping the weather here will cooperate better in the next few weeks for both skiing and riding and that the deficiency repairs will be finished before we leave.

I rode out to Whytecliff Park, one of my favourite destinations, on a decent but grey day. It's a much shorter ride from our new home, 40 km round trip instead of 84.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 11
ann and steve maher-wearyWe will be following along too, we would like to make it to Sicily in 2024.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo ann and steve maher-wearyI was convinced by the Andersons’ first trip. Then they went back—a good sign—and now again! So many places to go!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonI’m so sorry about your injury, Jacquie. Isn’t it surprising how much damage can be done by such a small slip? I’ve done the same thing myself and can imagine the feeling of landing on your foot with so much force. Good luck with the recovery!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Scott AndersonThanks, Scott. As my physiotherapist says, at least cycling is a knee-friendly activity. We are only planning one real hike, to Riserva Naturale Dello Zingaro. I am hoping it's not a terribly technical trail! I could bring one or both of my hiking poles, but I'd rather not.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Betsy EvansI feel the same way about my bike trainer. I associate it with recovery from injury. I'd rather be outdoors than spinning inside, even if the weather is terrible.

We've had a mediocre downhill ski season in Revelstoke (although conditions are excellent right now), and a terrible backcountry season (low snowpack and nasty avalanche conditions), but we've had terrific nordic ski conditions since the first week of December. Lucky us.

I may be in Sicily this fall. Will read your journal with interest!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetI don’t remember it being at all technical, as long as you don’t branch off on one of the side trails that climbs up the slope. I’m no great hiker any more, but we were fine five years ago without poles and just wearing our bike shoes.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetI don’t remember it being at all technical, as long as you don’t branch off on one of the side trails that climbs up the slope. I’m no great hiker any more, but we were fine five years ago without poles and just wearing our bike shoes.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Betsy EvansThe season here has been awful! We ski at Cypress/Hollyburn, where snow conditions have been Cascade Concrete (fresh, wet, and heavy or frozen and bulletproof) pretty well every day, although there were a few decent days in early December, before I injured myself. I tried downhill again earlier this month and managed a few green runs but it wasn't fun and then the chair hit the back of my injured knee and that was it. Skate skiing has been okay as long as the snow isn't refrozen crud (like it is this week).
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Scott AndersonGood to know! We bring trail runners for walking around and hiking as our current bike shoes are a bit stiff for a lot of walking and even recessed cleats are treacherous on slippery cobbles.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraHope your on the mend. Looking forward to following along. Susanna and I are also in the middle of planning our summer tour this year. Nice of all of you folks to recon Sicily for us as well one day. Three weeks to go, eh? Hope all goes smoothly.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Patrick O'HaraThanks, Patrick! It’s one I’ve wanted to do since I followed along on Scott and Rachael’s first tour there but it had to go on the after-retirement list. Not a July/August destination!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago