Zero days are not always Zero - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2023

Zero days are not always Zero

So today was probably the worst weather yet. Rain off and on all day. So no riding. Needed a rest anyway. Hopefully I can make up for lost time with those flat prairie roads and tail winds I know I’ll be blessed with soon. 

But today was not all laziness. I watched five episodes of Black Mirror Season six, cleaned and tuned my bike, oiled the chain, talked with the folks here (well I’m more a listener), pet Cody the Weimaraner (brother Casey is not so cuddly and Luna the cycling dog is manic), took some pics of the rainbows that are common in the valley below, and ate a tremendous breakfast and dinner (as well as some of my grocery stash.  Tomorrow I’ll try to get near West Yellowstone to camp. The town itself is way too expensive to even consider. Tuesday I hope to get an early start and miss some of the RV traffic the park is known for and get as far east in the park as possible. I’m gonna miss the more southern route that goes to most of the popular park features but hopefully also miss some of the traffic. 

I’m not very far in my journey but I doubt any other over night stay any where along my route will match this home/stay. Lisa and Kevin have treated the three of us like family and opened their magnificent home to us without reservation.  And they did this for three of us crazy people for two nights in a row!!!!  There is no way I can adequately thank them or repay them for their hospitality.  I can only wish them good health and fortune. 

My home away from home
Heart 1 Comment 0
A blast from the past
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rainbows off and on all day.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Good night all. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0