Riches to rags - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2023

Riches to rags

The wind has destroyed my plans

i’ve only been able to do 38 miles today due to the heavy winds. So I left Kevin and Lisa‘s unbelievably cushy, warm, dry, safe, welcoming, beautiful, generously offered abode to attempt to ride as far east towards West Yellowstone as possible. Heavy winds were predicted. In fact, my Garman notified me that there was potentially dangerous winds ahead.  Leaving at around 8 o’clock with sun and a 5 to 10 mph tailwind I was wondering if maybe the weather report was incorrect. However 14 miles into the day, the tail wind suddenly turned into a ferocious headwind. This did not happen as at home where the wind may change directions and blow harder over a 20 or 30 minute period, this happened in less than five seconds.

The headline was easily 20 to 30 mph the entire day with gusts that threatened to knock me over. The fact I nearly fell twice. It didn’t take me long to realize I was not going to go very far today so I stuck my thumb out whenever a car was coming and hope someone to pick me up. Joshua, my previous riding buddy, actually got a ride all the way into West Yellowstone. I was not so lucky however. The only positive thing about the ride was until I got to a campground I had sun. The temperature was about 59 or 60 according to Garman  And the sun kept me warmed from the wind chill. 

Upper head over the mountains, I could see clouds, forming and getting darker and darker, as I approached. I knew I was gonna run into rain. As I rode, I must’ve seen 1000 places. I could stealth camp and get out of the wind. Hi to me hind clumps of trees or brush. However, everything out here is private property and fenced off with Barbed wire. So there was no choice but to persist against the wind. I walked and rode until I came to a facility with cabins, RV sites, tent sites. Not wanting to spend another $120 for a cabin I opted for the $20 tent site. as soon as I begin setting up the tent, rain began to pour. I did the best I could to keep the rain out of the tent as I set it up, but still things got a little damp. Exhausted, I immediately fell asleep with my sleeping bag.

The campground, called west, fork camp it’s not bad. Nothing fancy. I’m off in the corner. In the grassy spot. There’s a bear box to place my food. A small shower and bathroom is part of the fee. Most of the RVs here are of the smaller nature. The one closest to me is a van conversion. During a brief stint in the rain when the sun came out, I was sitting at a picnic table, wondering how the older couple and their dog could live in such a cramped space as a van. Then I crawled into my tiny two-man tent where I struggled just to takeoff my sweaty clothes and put something warm on for the night. Trying to dress in a dress while sitting in lying is for the young. I might have to look into one of those vans.

Tomorrow, I’ll try to make it to West Yellowstone. I believe it’s 40 some miles away.  I’m hoping the headwind is gone or at least diminished. I’ll play it by ear and find a place for tomorrow night as I go.

Not too many pictures taken today as I needed both hands to fight the wind. I’ll add what I took tomorrow since I have extremely poor service here.

Hope everybody has a good night sleep.



Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 830 miles (1,336 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Randy JohnsonI feel for you in those winds. Last year in Nebraska my wife got blown off the bike two times. Then we stuck out our thumbs.

Enjoying these journal entries. Stay safe Tim!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago