Doesn’t get any better than this. - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2023

Doesn’t get any better than this.

Thanks to my first host ( Tim B) in Sioux City for putting me up and providing great meals, warm showers, a tour of town with history lessons, and good conversation. 

Today I met up with Team Rockford Cycling, the original team I had been with since my third RAGBRAI.  Some old faces, some new, some grown since I last saw them.  Our organizers set us up at the home of a fantastic couple and we all found a place inside out of the heat for sleeping.  We had a great meal and some of the best oatmeal cookies I have ever tasted. It will be tough to leave in the morning and tough for our future hosts to equal this stay. 

In all Sioux City has been good to me. AND NO RAIN!!!!!

I received the care package sent by my wife as well as new bits for Shrek. He now sports new pedals, chain, cassette, and tires. I’ll send the old stuff back at some point along with as much unneeded stuff as I can. I was asked what I had brought that I have not used so far and I really couldn’t think of anything. Except maybe small stuff like sunscreen. But from here on out I don’t expect to see cold temps like I did further west so I should be able to jettison some things. 

The RAGBRAI crowd is expected to be crazy this year as it is the 50th anniversary of the ride. I’ll let you know. May need to do my own thing and go my own route. 

I met Ryan Van Duzer
Heart 3 Comment 0
I discussed Ryan a few weeks back.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Home.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0