Crappy camp sites, cheap motels, lousy Mexican, and redneck hell. - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2023

Crappy camp sites, cheap motels, lousy Mexican, and redneck hell.

But NO RAIN.

Rain clouds moved in last night while I was attempting to get some sleep and failing miserably.  By 6am I figured I might as well get up and do something. I packed and walked across the park to a cafe where I had excellent French toast except it was served with fake butter and fake syrup.  But tasted pretty good. 

My thought was to head to Stuart where the town has a camping area at its park. It had no shower but I found several garden hoses that would do if the neighbors didn’t mind me showering outside in my bike shorts. There was also nice shade and I could steal electric from one of a dozen outlets, but there was no picnic table to be had and sitting around on the ground or cooking on the ground is tough on this old body.  Do I looked ahead to the next town which also has a city camp grounds. 

Atkinson was only 8 miles away and promised a shower and electric for $10. Yep, they had those things and a picnic table at every site, but no shade. I couldn’t site there in 90 degree heat for the next 7 hours.  I was thinking maybe I should have just stayed put in Ainsworth with its shady park, swimming pool, and showers!  Live and learn. 

So here I am at the next best place, a cheap motel 74 miles from my morning start swatting at a dozen flies that must have come in while the maid was here this morning. To make things better I decided to treat myself to a good Mexican meal only this was the blandest fajitas I have ever had. Even my home made are better. At least the beer was good. 

Thursday night must be Cruise the Strip night.  People were lining the main drag, sitting in lawn chairs and cars, enjoying a cold beverage, and watching folks drive up and down the drag endlessly.  There were some vintage muscle cars but not enough go to be impressed by.  My favorite was a bright yellow Dodge Charger from back in the day, with big mags and no muffler. The town cop sat on his butt up and down Main Street  waiting for him to do something stupid.   And I thought the Eastern Shore was redneck!  

Best part of the day was the tail wind which allowed me the freedom to ride so far in search of Shangri-La. Nice. I’ll take that any day!  And I stopped at a local museum to see what they had to offer. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I bet Scott and Diane are back at Ainsworth swimming in that pool!  

PS: I have told some folks I have met about this journal and if any wish to contact me…..tjdale@me.com 

Today's ride: 74 miles (119 km)
Total: 1,900 miles (3,058 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0