🎼🎹The Hills Are Alive🎹🎼 - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2023

🎼🎹The Hills Are Alive🎹🎼

With The Sound of Traffic

Skies were clear again today and temps reached 85.  We decided on a short day and a two night motel stay as the weather man has predicted rain all day tomorrow. Of course the weather report has changed and now most of the rain is predicted for later Monday into Tuesday.  We will just have to see. 

So we left Berlin Ohio around 1030 taking route 39 the whole way to New Philadelphia. There is a shoulder all along this route ranging from 2-3 feet wide and it is heavily travelled by the local Amish traveling by bike or buggy. In fact the horses have worn a pretty good path in the asphalt in some places. The Amish here travel by e-bike exclusively!!!  Little old Amish ladies dressed in plan dresses passed us like we were standing still. And their pedal cadence was no more than 50-60.  Not fair!!!! 

Even with the shoulder this short ride was exhausting due to the amount of traffic which intensified greatly once in New Philadelphia.  We visited Dicks sporting goods where I replenished my anti chafing goo, replaced my busted pump, and found a nice bandanna to keep the sun off my neck. I’ve lost 3 bandannas so far. 

Not having to rush we stopped for a meal in Sugarcreek where we had an eye opening conversation with an older Amish couple.  I learned they are not nearly as strict as TV would have us believe and live a much more relaxed life than I suspected. They have traveled all over the country, spend winters in Florida, and do not have to shun family members who have decided to leave the sect and live among the English.  They’ve been to more places than I have.  I was glad they felt free to discuss their lives with us. 

Since there are no rail trails here we are on the roads which means hills!!  Some are gradual and long but others are short and steep. One was 11% grade. Clank was not happy. Nor was AGM.  But we survived and will need to push through the upcoming hills til reaching the Panhandle Trail in Pennsytucky.  Then back to rail trails and tow paths almost all the way to DC.

At the local Walmart I stocked up on junk food and fruit,and replaced the sunglasses I lost in the storm yesterday. Only when I left the store instead of three bags I only had two. I left one on the register rack and someone took it instead of trying to tell me if my mistake. So someone got a bag of peanuts, a box of Oreos, and sunglasses for free. I was really mad with myself and whom ever the scoundrel was who didn’t have the decency to get my attention at the checkout. 

At the motel I received an unexpected and surprising call……from Alvin R our pickup truck savior. He had gotten my number from our last motel host (a small local BNB) who had heard our storm story when we checked in yesterday.  He wanted to know more about our trip and asked I call him when I reached home. I sent a link to this journal to his cellphone and hope he enjoys reading it. Thanks again Al!!!!!

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 3,236 miles (5,208 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Frank SowaTim, A MAN OF THE PEOPLE ...did u wear that outfit into the store ?? and you need a haircut .... LOL (as if i have any room to talk)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Timothy DaleTo Frank SowaHa, that is a pic of Bruce talking to the Amish. I look a lot worse than that!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago