Day 2: Porpoise Bay PP to Saltery Cove PP - Four-day Sunshine Coast Loop - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2014

Day 2: Porpoise Bay PP to Saltery Cove PP

I set off at 8 to ride back through Sechelt and north on Highway 101 until I could turn off onto Redrooffs Road. On the highway I was passed by shiny cars from the car show, something that would happen regularly all day.

Redrooffs Road was pleasant with several steep short hills but the day was getting very hot. This alternative route ended at Halfmoon Bay and I was back on 101. The shoulder width varied from quite wide to zero with the white line painted on the very edge of the asphalt. The heat made it a pleasant break to shop for lunch and dinner supplies in the air-conditioned grocery store in Madeira Park.

Back on the highway it seemed very hilly--or was it the heat? There were a few places to stop where I could have gone for a swim in a lake, but every one of them was after a refreshing downhill and followed by an uphill that would have erased the cooling effects of a swim. In any case, I arrived in Earls Cove a couple of hours before the next ferry so sat in the shade to read my book and eat my lunch.

The ferry was at 3:15 so arrived at Saltery Bay after 4. Being unaware of any other good places to camp before Powell River, I chose to camp at Saltery Bay Provincial Park and am I ever glad I did. After setting up my tent I put on my swimsuit and headed down to the water. I can't say "beach" because it isn't, but (in my opinion) it's better. Bedrock shelves provide easy access to warm (for BC) water. I hate cold water but this wasn't. I stayed in for some time just enjoying the view and the feeling of not being hot and sweaty.

The waterfront at Saltery Bay Provincial Park
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunset, Saltery Bay
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 105 km (65 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0