The Plan - Four-day Sunshine Coast Loop - CycleBlaze

The Plan

This is a trip I'd been wanting to do for a long time, but until this year, I was afraid to tour alone. More specifically, until I discovered CGOAB while researching for my new touring bike and also found journals by solo women. Funny, I did the rail-pass-and-backpack thing through Europe alone, and spent seven months travelling through Thailand, Nepal, and India on my own, but was nervous about biking alone.

However, having bought my new bike, I needed to use it. Lots. And I didn't want to wait for my husband Al to be available.

This was actually my second solo trip; the first was in July to Saltspring Island. I hope to write it up later.

As it turned out, the weekend I was planning to start was also the weekend of the Sunshine Coast Mountain Bike Trail Challenge for which Al was signed up. We could carpool to the ferry! He suggested I could camp with the group Saturday night, and since there was a BBQ salmon dinner in the offer, of course I agreed. Sunday morning, the mountain bikers would head south back to the ferry, and I would head north to a different ferry.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0