Day 1: Langdale to Porpoise Bay Provincial Park - Four-day Sunshine Coast Loop - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2014

Day 1: Langdale to Porpoise Bay Provincial Park

I took the scenic route today because (a) I had all day to get to Sechelt and (b) isn't that the point of bike touring?

I waited at the Langdale ferry terminal for the traffic to dissipate and asked the bus driver (there to pick up the Sunshine Coast MBT Challenge riders) how to get onto Marine Drive. Left at the lights when you exit the ferry terminal then stay right at the fork, he said. I followed those directions and it was a pleasant 4 km to Gibsons.

At what I would call the village centre (tourist information on one corner, Molly's Reach on another), I turned onto Gower Point Road to follow the coast a bit further. I found myself in a very pleasant residential area with short steep ups and downs and no vehicle traffic. There were several morning strollers and dog-walkers and every one greeted me!

I turned up Pratt Road as the last through road to Highway 101 (the Sunshine Coast Highway)--no more walkers, a bike lane only on one side--the other side, of course. Only about 2 km on 101 then I turned onto Lower Road. When I stopped at the Roberts Creek Library to use the washroom, I ended up chatting with the volunteer librarian for half an hour. It's a volunteer-run library and not part of the regular BC public library system. It looked like a very pleasant place to spend some time.

Beach Avenue was so pleasant I forgot to watch for Flume Road, the last road back up to the highway according to Google Maps. There was a beautiful beach with public access at the end so it was definitely a worthwhile detour. A local out walking her dog told me that, since I was on a bike, I could take Park Avenue up the hill and ride through the Roberts Creek Provincial Park campground to the highway. Dog walkers are second only to local cyclists regarding good routes.

Sadly, no more alternatives to 101 from here to Sechelt. There's a Farmer's Market in Sechelt on Saturdays but unlike those in the Vancouver area, no food trucks. (There was craft beer but since I had no way to chill it, I didn't bother. There was also a car show, quite a big deal it seemed, but again, I didn't bother.) Instead, I treated myself to a BBQ salmon lunch at Ty's Bistro. $8 for salmon, roast potatoes, and spinach salad. The BBQ was outside and they even watched my bike while I went into the grocery store to buy some fruit.

I arrived at Porpoise Bay Provincial Park well ahead of the Sunshine Coast MBTC riders. The organizer had booked the group site, but I noticed that Porpoise Bay PP actually has a cyclist camping area. It's the only one I've ever seen in a BC Provincial Park.

Heart 0 Comment 0
The friendly streets in Gower Point
Heart 0 Comment 0
The beach at the end of Beach Avenue, Roberts Creek
Heart 0 Comment 0
I am so glad I wasn't going the other way!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 km (25 miles)
Total: 40 km (25 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0