Fussing and Fretting - Our slow roll around Canada 2022 - Part 1 - CycleBlaze

May 11, 2022

Fussing and Fretting

Por fin!
Unless something drastic happens, like my leg falls off, in 4 days time we should be rolling our bikes out the door for our first longish tour. 

Actually we thought we might need to postpone the start date.  We had friends over for a visit last week only to be informed 2 days later they tested positive for covid. Luckily we dodged that bullet and happily our friends are on the mend.

We have become obsessed with looking at the weather forecast for this coming week. I downloaded 2 additional weather apps hoping to find one whose predicted weather for Sunday didn't include a high percentage of rain. 
 
Weather Network - 40% 
Weather Channel - 44%
Weather Forecast - 79%

I can live with a 60% chance of no rain so  the weather Network app is numero uno for now.

The view from our deck this morning - too bad we aren't starting today!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I will try my best to update the journal daily dependant on WiFi etc.   We will be using  our AT&T Mexico phones for accessing the internet wherever Rogers is available. We also have a GlocalMe for portable WiFi . 

Budget dictates that we will be staying in a campground most of the time with the occasional motel thrown in now and then. Luckily we love camping. 
 
We are not taking a laptop with us. Journaling will be done through my phone and a folding, Bluetooth keyboard. I am not a writer so I hope you can forgive my spelling and grammar errors.  Photos will also be from our phones. - no camera. We are taking the GoPros and will be editing and making videos on our return.

Most of our meals will be what we can throw together from our planned daily stops at a grocery store.  Where there are no grocery stores,  convenience stores or gas station food will do. We are not fussy. On occasion we will have a restaurant meal.

We have been planning for this trip for a long time. I'm nervous and excited and looking forward to the challenges. I am grateful we are retired and not under any time constraints or work commitments.

I am also grateful for our good health that enables us to head out on an adventure such as this. I had a dance with cancer a few years ago and being here today to have this experience is very sweet indeed.

Until then
Hasta Luego

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0