Change of route - Our slow roll around Canada 2022 - Part 1 - CycleBlaze

April 22, 2022

Change of route

Apparently I did over plan and with a change of route comes cancelling all the reservations I made. I never learn.

For several reasons, a cold spring being one of them, we are now starting the tour from the convenience of cycling out from our front door instead of renting a car to take us to the rainy coast to start the tour. Now we will be aiming for Kamloops, Clearwater, Valemount and to Jasper to begin. We are also starting 2 days later on May 15th, as long as there's not a major storm that day. It's  Rob's birthday and with all the cake we'll be having for breakfast, it should give us the fuel we need to blast us up a very long hill we will be encountering on that first day.

The first leg from Vernon to Jasper
Heart 0 Comment 0

We went out for an almost fully loaded, 63 km training ride today on a flat rail trail. Should of been easy right? It was a beautiful day, very little wind and not too many people using the trail. But half way through the ride my left knee started to ache and the further I went the sorer it became. Every pedal stroke was painful. 

Rest stop on East side if Wood Lake
Heart 0 Comment 2
Keith AdamsOh you CAN'T leave me hanging like that! What ARE the two kinds of Kokanee in Wood Lake? Inquiring minds NEED to know. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Leslie and Rob CookeTo Keith AdamsDarn I wish I could name both - one is the sockeye salmon but I will have go back for another ride by and check a little closer!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

After riding the trail along Kalamalka Lake we arrived at the little community of Oyama, home to many fruit orchards. The rail trail continues along the east side of Wood Lake to Winfield. It's a lovely ride and we met very few people on this section. 

Got a chuckle over the sign about the highly trained killer chickens
Heart 1 Comment 0

After a short section on a road and a stop for food, we joined up on the Pelmewash Parkway for our return. This is a paved trail and is dotted with rest stops along the whole west side of Wood Lake with great views. They've done a lovely job of the path. It used to be part of the main hwy between Winfield and Oyama but is now a much quieter road with the paved cycling/pedestrian path added.

Wood Lake looking down towards Oyama
Heart 2 Comment 0
Some great artwork at many of the rest stops
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bike repair station along the Pelmewash Parkway
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I am now seeing a physiotherapist about my sore knee in hopes of finding out why I'm experiencing  pain and what I can do to fix it. We've planned our first week to include low daily mileage. Hopefully that does the trick. I have 3 weeks left to heal. 

Today's ride: 63 km (39 miles)
Total: 63 km (39 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Steve Miller/GrampiesPhysio is good, but also try adjusting your seat height. Even as little as 1/4 inch up or down can make a major difference we have found. Steve was getting sore knees and moved his saddle height up by just a little-it seemed to do the trick.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsI'll second the comment about proper seat height- it makes an ENORMOUS difference and a few millimeters one way or the other can really affect you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Leslie and Rob CookeTo Steve Miller/GrampiesGood suggestion. I did move it up but I also moved it forward and adjusted the handlebars. Now I've moved my seat back hehe and my handlebars up more. I think I'm starting to dial it in.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago