Day 35: Happy Days! - Ride And Seek - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2014

Day 35: Happy Days!

Today we will be riding out of The Big Empty of long days and endless climbs. Leo is happier about it than I am, but I'm not complaining. We only had two small passes (compared to the ones that we have battled the past 5 or 6 days) and when we topped the last one Leo had a big smile on his face...


Leo's reaction to the last major climb in Nevada
Heart 0 Comment 0


But I still think Middlegate station is cool so I'm adding pictures. It reminds me of what I imagine an Australian Outback post would be like. And this was confirmed by New Zealander Terry, who I mentioned in a previous post. He agreed with my assessment and since he has been in the Australian Outback I will take his word for it.

Middlegate Station
It's got a personality all its own
Heart 0 Comment 0
Middlegate Station
Heart 1 Comment 0
One wall at Middlegate was covered with donated patches
Heart 0 Comment 0
Middlegate Station
Heart 1 Comment 0


But aside from the weird weather--kind of overcast, but still hot and humid, the day was pretty straight forward. We got to Fallon early and didn't want to go any further so we got a cheap (but surprisingly clean) hotel and sat in the air-conditioning watching the Tour de France.

We now feel like we are in the last phase of the trip. Drink stops will be more frequent. Spirits are high!

The last stretch to Fallon could be described as bleak. I can't really argue, though I also find it kind of interesting. Though I wouldn't want to spend more than a few hours in this terrain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I have to admit I have not properly washed my clothes for a while.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near Fallon
I didn't know that rattle snakes raced?
Heart 0 Comment 0
This seems appropriate for the area?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 2,140 miles (3,444 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0