Finding Things to Find - Ride And Seek - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2014

Finding Things to Find

There are lots of things in the world. Some of them pop out at you, like trees and birds and cats on YouTube, while some need to be found. Oh, there are the usual cultural things, like those I've reported about in previous journals, like The Grand Canyon, or the D-Day beaches in Normandy, or Mont Saint-Michel in France.

But there are other culturally significant things that don't get the press of "show off attractions" like The Louvre. Things like the word's largest ball oif twine, the world's largest Mennonite (carved from limestone), and let's not forget the worlds only barbed wire museum. At least I think it's the only barbed wire museum? I'm not sure the world could handle two?

I had planned to see the World's Largest Hairball--55 pounds that came out of a slaughtered cow--in Garden City Kansas, but circumstances conspired against me. That will give me something to look forward to on my next trip.

My point is that all of these things need finding. Anyone can find The Louvre. Anyone can find The Grand Canyon. But the worlds largest Mennonite? That takes some doing.

So, on this trip I will find things, or not find things. Does it matter? The important thing is that I will be riding my bike in an attempt to find them. I shall, you see, Ride and Seek.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0