Day 31: Baker to Ely - Ride And Seek - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2014

Day 31: Baker to Ely

Today was a potpourri...

The climb up Sacramento pass from the east is not that bad. I remember climbing it from the west, where it was much steeper and, frankly, it was a bitch. Except this time we had to contend with flies, which seemed to come out of no where about halfway up. I hate flies.

A few miles from the top I passed Leo...

"Oh my gosh, there are flies all over your back!" I said as I zoomed by with extra energy because I wanted to get up that climb so bad. "Are there flies all over me?!"

"Yes."

Arrrrrrrrg!

Luckily I was only a few miles from the top. I kept shaking my shirt and I think I got most of them off, though I had plenty of freeloaders on my panniers. But once near the top the wind started up and they were blown off. Crisis averted for now and we made our way down...

At the top of Sacramento Pass, where the flies were all but blown off by the wind
Heart 0 Comment 0
The famous antler gate
Heart 0 Comment 0
Whoa, that is one big mailbox! I bet you could order a microwave from Amazon and put it in there.
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's a beautiful sight, renewable energy wise
Heart 0 Comment 0
Electrons moving up the line...
Heart 0 Comment 0


We were headed for Major's Junction and lunch, but Major's Junction is one of these places that you can see for 20 miles and never seem to get to, especially because its in the middle of a big damn climb. And all that is all part of it, except Leo didnt eat enough so about half way up he started fading in my rear view mirror. It was a miserable climb, at least it was for him, but eventually we made it and had a big hamburget and fries and a coke. After that the color returned to Leo's face and he became human again.


Majors junction. Where Leo fueled up and was much less grumpy when he left (because of the food I mean :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0


But we still had half of a climb more to do, which is fine except when we got to the top all hell broke loose again, rain and thunder wise. Like all desert rain it poured for about 20 minutes, while we splashed down the mountian, and then it slowly stopped. Now it was my turn to be grumpy because Leo doesnt mind the rain, being from England originally.

But the good news is that it was mostly all downhill to the Ely KOA, which is a nice one. And it wasnt more than an hour later when 3 other cyclists showed up, and then a whole group of non-cycling teenagers from France, so Leo got to yammer again in a language I dont understand. But I kind of get a kick out of it to tell you the truth.

Tomorrow is a other long day to Eureka. Four big climbs and 78 miles without water. Wish us luck...


Thats me at the top of the last climb. After Leo took the picture I remember thinking, "why did I smile? I am feeling pretty wet and miserable right now." But I was too wet and miserable to ask him to take another pic. Though if I had I could have straghtened out my jacket, which, to be honost, makes me look like a bum, because the zipper is all fershickled, but I didnt know that at the time. Still, I ain't going up there for a re-take!
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were lots of these scattered all over the route with little bits of information about Nevada. Say "bits" now because I have been hanging around Leo too long. Bits, Bits, Bits...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here is the seal for Nevada. It sure looks like an idyllic place, especially the Mr. Sun in the back. Though they left out the chain smoker with an oxygen tank flicking ashes on a blackjack table. I think if they make a state seal they should be accurate. Im a stickler for accuracy dont forget.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 1,797 miles (2,892 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0