Day 32: Ely to Eureka - Ride And Seek - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2014

Day 32: Ely to Eureka

My favorite pic of the day :-)
Looks more like Kansas but it's not.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I don't think Leo likes Nevada much? He says the distances are too long between towns, and that there are too many climbs.

I can't argue with his logic. Nevada is not relaxing, especially today, with over 70 miles of riding and 4 major climbs. Still, there is something about it that I kind of like. Maybe I'm just an idiot, or something?

We had a long way to go...
Heart 0 Comment 0

There is something about the wide openness that appeals to me, though I can understand Leo's arguments against. And we were both pretty shattered by days end.

"How about we take a rest day tomorrow?" I said. And Leo agreed immediately.

A little while later he said, "How about we get a hotel?" Which I took no time to agree to.

Morning sky
Heart 0 Comment 0

The weirdest thing (coincidence wise) happened about half way through the day. For the past 2 days we have seen a Swiss couple and their son. First, at Major's Junction, where I told you we had a hamburger, halfway between Baker and Ely. Then, at the Ely KOA I saw The Missus in the laundry...

...so about halfway through, at the top of the second climb, I thought it was be nice to have a nice cold Coke, or something. Leo was almost to the top so I stopped a camper to do some scrounging.

"Do you have any Cokes we can buy off of you?" I asked, then added, "Hey, I know you. Aren't you the Swiss family?"

Which of course it was or this story would be going nowhere. They were all to happy to give us something cold to drink. They didn't have Cokes but produced 2 ice cold Lemonade drinks and then an extra bottle of cold water.

Leo and I were both grateful and sat on the side of the road luxuriating in the coldness. Then it was time to tackle the last two climbs.

We made it in, of course, and headed to the nearest hotel, close to 7pm, after 10-plus hours on the road. We were so tired we didn't even go out to dinner, and eat what we could scrounged from food leftover in our bags, plus some things like orange juice from the vending machines.

"I can't say I like Nevada," Leo said, "but the scenery is striking."

I had to agree.

Tomorrow, as I said, we are taking our well deserved rest day. Then it's off to Austin.

On the way to Eureka
Yes, I agree with Leo, the scenery is striking.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Will do!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is what happens when you dont eat your vegetables
Heart 0 Comment 0
"What is the Lincoln Highway?" Leo asked. So I explained that it was the first transcontinental highway with cars in mind, started in 1913 or so. It is not one road but a whole lotta roads strung together to make a route. We are on the Nevada portion of that road now.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 78 miles (126 km)
Total: 1,875 miles (3,018 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0